About to Overclock......need advice and patience. - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2005, 11:31 AM   #51 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

It seems i have a little problem... When i turn on my computer it stops while it is booting and Says "Hardware Monitor found an error- press f1 to continue/del to open BIOS" This happens everytime i turn my computer on and when i do press f1 A crazy computer voice comes out of my speakers and says "booting from operating system"???????????????????? When i go into Bios and select hardware monitor- everything looks normal but Chassis Fan Speed says 1577 RPM and it's in highlighted in Red.??? Whats the deal??? Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 11:19 PM   #52 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Ok......so now my computer is not letting me into BIOS Instead when i turn it on this crazy sounding voice comes out of my speakers saying "booting from operating system". Then it goes right into windows without giving me the option of opening BIOS. Before this happened i turn the highlighted Chassis Fan Speed to ignore (thinking it's only fan speed how bad can it be?) Anyways i'm lost on what to do.........any advice or info would be greatly appriecated. Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 11:20 PM   #53 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I dont know whats going on.......you need to get a goat....cut it's throat and offers it's sacrifice to the OC'ing gods at this point.

EDIT: Unplug the HD's, and make sure you've reset the cmos, that's all I can think of to do
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 11:46 PM   #54 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

But if you think the goat thing might work i'd be willing to try at this point,lol. Thanks i'll give it a try......
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 09:33 AM   #55 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Crazy little voice from your bios? Good god man!

(Turns to nubius) ::slap::
(Back to MADWAD) Get ahold of yourself man!

The easiest way to reset your BIOS is to yank the battery for 30 seconds or so, and then put it back. It's not practical, some people would even tell you it is wrong. It's not wrong, but it is not the prefffered method of resetting your BIOS.

I dont think the goat is going to work. Sounds like you need a pure virgin...
Him is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 04:56 PM   #56 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No the easiest way is to use your CMOS jumpers........removing the battery is a very accepted way of doing it, but generally only after the jumpers dont work, and theres no one I've ever come across that's said it's wrong.

Quote:
(Turns to nubius) ::slap::
......umm...........no
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 04:58 PM   #57 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
......umm...........no
You didnt get it, Airplane joke.
Him is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 05:07 PM   #58 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

nope, only saw the movie once and it wasn't very good, beyond that was quite some time ago and I was half paying attention
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 02:59 AM   #59 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

i guess i reset the CHMOS jumpers and i can get into BIOS now, but while booting i still get that Crazy voice (it's a womans voice but screwed up,lol). I guess its something i have to live with,hey? Anyways i O.C a little more and here are tthe results.

CPU Clock 2808.46 MHz (original: 2400 MHz, overclock: 17%)

CPU FSB 156.03 MHz (original: 133 MHz, overclock: 17%)

So the best possible way to check your cpu temp is in Bios right? and a temp at idle around 40c would be good right now for the O.C i have done? I might try for 3.0 GHz, That would be really nice but is it realistic? Thanks
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 05:06 AM   #60 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

even a BIOS temp reading can be incorrect....and generally programs like motherboard monitor 5 read from the same diode the BIOS does so in most cases they should be the same.

OC to whatever you can get
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.