about how far can you OC a x2 3800+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default about how far can you OC a x2 3800+?

I have a x2 4200+ picked out, and im wondering if i could save money by going with a 3800 and OC'ing. If so 1) about how far could i get with stock cooling. 2) how easy is it to OC, i've never OC'd before.

spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

Get the 3800+ instead. The price of the 4200+ is not worth the extra .2 You can easily OC the 3800+ to 4200+ speeds or beyond. I hear most people get 2.5-2.8 range on the 3800+.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611

ok, is it relatively easy for a first time OC'er?
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
gurusan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan

The processor really doesn't determine how easy/hard it is to OC...just a factor of how high you can take it.

The BIOS really is what makes it ...well not necessarily easy, but you can usually get a better OC from a BIOS with more options
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611

ok ill take a look at that
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 12:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed

i just found out about the new clockgen and i was very unhappy, i dunno if the ne version is bugy or somethin but my 3200 had no problem reaching 2.7 twice in a row, now i try with this new version and it shutdown at 2.25, i only increased it .03 at the most each time and waited for it to register the clock in aibooster.

i know oc'ing varys but that is a huge difference
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz

i like the bios set up MSI gives you

i've got mine up to 2.38 w/o adjusting the ram...
i just started fiddling w/the ram and have gotten it up to 2.42 and still have room (thanks reg da man!)

i think i need to read up more on CAS timings and hyperthreading before i go too much further...

there are alot of guys on here w/ their 3800+ over 2.5
Change the world
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 01:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

it is pretty easy to get the x2 3800+ up past 2.5 w/ very little adjustments.

right now i have mine set at 2.5 using a ram divider set at......166 i think? can't remeber, i'm on my laptop at school, and it has 2.5-3-3-5 timings.

as well...please check out this thread on a guide to overclocking
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 05:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

well if you get a crappy stepping like me.. you won't get very far... the farthest i got with mine is only 2.6 ghz.. and it'll hardly do that now.... which sucks.. even with a ram divider and 1.6 voltage..... i've tried playing with timings.. i've done everything.. i just got a crap of the crop.. i'd go with the 4200 just because it should be able to oc just a bit higher
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 06:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611

im going with an e6300 now, heard they oc like beasts, and they compete really well with 4200's stock.

spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.