9800xt - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 11:39 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

BF2 1280x1024 6x? On a 9800XT? Bull****.

Anyone can go into battlerecorder and set the graphics fo max and take a pic. Otherwise, its BS. A 6600GT can't do that, much less a 9800XT.

30fps is crap. Anyone can SET their settings to max but it takes a helluva lot more to PLAY at those settings.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 01:49 AM   #32 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

I do play at those setting and 30fps isnt crap. Your eye can only see 40 so a lag to you would be what, 15? I dont drop that low and i will show you what it looks like by an IN game screen. If i can find fraps we will see what my FPS is cause i dont know just i know it dosent lag. BTW isnt the 6600GT 4 pipes? (havent looked at it in a while)
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:05 AM   #33 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

pp you really must not know what im talking about, i run bf2 1280/1024 with forced 16xaf and forced 6xaa, with the highest picture quality, and high quality mipmaping, my frame rate is about 60-85, and it only drops when the whole screen is completly covered in smoke i mean thick artillery smoke and everybody is running around. and frame rate is never 30 i said its in the 30,s

and the 6600gt will kill your 9800xt. 6600gt is 8 pipeslines, on 500mhz core and 1ghz memory. most people are able to get the core to 600mhz and the memory to 1.3ghz. that would throw the 9800xt in dirt. even tho they both would not run bf2 at my settings, just like flanker was saying

your 9800xt cannot compete, if it ran bf2 at those settings i wouldnt have bought this video card, everybody would have 9800pro,s

trust me its really the main reason i sold my 6600gt becasue bf2 is the main game i play and i wanted it to look better. i ran bf2 at 1182/864 4xaa no anistropic with the 6600gt. and if a artillery hit the ground and covered the screen with thick smoke i would have a frame rate of about 20-25. which is completly horrible and sometimes i would have a frame rate of 30 just walking around.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:05 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

The 6600GT has 8 pipes...
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:36 AM   #35 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Ok so now i know the 6600GT has 8 pipes, *makes poping noise w/ mouth and wistles* big deal. I play BF2 at those settings whether yall want to believe it or not. I play it forced 16Xaf and 6xAA 1280x1024 no problem at all. It does not lag nor do i have it OCd. Its called being able to setup your hardware right and not having your resources hogged. I bet you guys also have SP2 installed am i right? I dont use any SP at all, and this is on my 2600+ system.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 05:21 AM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

yep i do have sp2 installed, and it helps my performance out alot. the only way possible of you running on those settings it either you have everything on low. or your running this on your 6800gt.

your 9800xt is an ok video card. but i would never have it in a primary computer.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 10:22 AM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

he's 9800XT is in his lan computer doh, i think you should read the whole thread...

who cares what setting he runs at, at least he's happy and can play with no lag

i wonder what a dual core, 2GB of ram, and a 7800GT can play bf2 on high settings
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:16 PM   #38 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

^^ Exactly, its in my LAN rig w/
AMD Athlon2600+ @2.3ghz
Shuttle AN35N nF2ultra-400
1.5gig Kingston DC ram PC2700@pc3200
ATI Radeon 9800XT 128mb
SB Live! 5.1

My main rig and 6800ultra blows this card to bits, yes, but im strictly talking about playing BF2 maxed out on this thing. Sense im usualy in my room i play my LAN machine becasue my main rig is currently on the internet. Sense its on teh internet its out in the dining room which i dont want to distrub my prents by extremely loud gunfire .
In any case like he said, i know what i can do w/ it and whether you believe it or not is another story. Like i said i will show you that 1) Im playing it at those settings 2) i have the availibility of 6xAA. But you have to wait till i get home cause im currently in OK for a show.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:12 PM   #39 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Doesn't matter if he's "happy with it." If I was "happy with" playing BF2 on max with 5fps, it doesn't mean that my card is better than that 7800GTX playing BF2 on max with 90fps. Just because I'm happier with my FX5200 than that guy with the 7800GTX is doesn't mean that my vid card is better than that 7800GTX.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 10:40 PM   #40 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Lol i dont play at 5fps man i can gurantee that. It has to be at least over 15fps AT THE LEAST. Cause anything lower than that lags big time and i cant stand it. Ill run FRAPS and tell yall wht its runing at.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.