9800xt - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2005, 12:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Quote:
Indeed...I'm also a victim of the FX 5700 cards....however I also got a ****ty brand......chaintech....first one died within 2 months, RMA'd it...2nd one came back with a bigger heatsink, that crap died within a few months......piece of crap....however it was an upgrade from a Gf2 Ti 64mb and I didn't know better at the time, so compared to that previous card it was a beast.
For all of my Nvidia cards so far ive been victim of PNY cause thats all my uncle would buy. The 5700, well yall know what happend to that and the 5600ultra just...died for no reason. Ive had it for a coupla years now so its held out but it still died. This 9800XT by far whoops on both of them in their prime OCD haha. So sad. Im now wishing i would have bought a 9600XT or something when they came out.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 03:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you love it dont you i told you i was going to sell it sometime

anyways wheres my money eh

they delivered my 7800GT but i wasnt home ARG!! stupid signing the paper...
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

X1300 > 7800GT foo, you got ripped off.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 08:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
X1300 > 7800GT foo, you got ripped off.
ahhh transitive property, AHH PROOFS! AHH GAY STUFF FROM MATH!

anyways technically the X1300 with the beefy 512MB of ram and the whole total of 4 pipelines is > the 7800GTX 512MB
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 08:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

avalanche the 6600gt is a decent video card but it doesnt own. when i had my 6600gt i ran some games with decent setting but u could never push on heavy aa or anistropic filtering. but yea the 9800xt is decent for a second computer. but the 600gt doesnt own
burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by burned-ati
avalanche the 6600gt is a decent video card but it doesnt own. when i had my 6600gt i ran some games with decent setting but u could never push on heavy aa or anistropic filtering. but yea the 9800xt is decent for a second computer. but the 600gt doesnt own
it owns in the games i play...

i seem to run hl2 and css on the highest settings and have no worries..so to me it owns
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Indeed...I'm also a victim of the FX 5700 cards....however I also got a ****ty brand......chaintech....first one died within 2 months, RMA'd it...2nd one came back with a bigger heatsink, that crap died within a few months......piece of crap....however it was an upgrade from a Gf2 Ti 64mb and I didn't know better at the time, so compared to that previous card it was a beast.

I also give ATI props for the 9xxx series...they were great cards and the 9800 cards held out for a really long time
Don't make me remember does horrible days!!!!!. Before i own my 9800Pro i indeed have a FX it was if i remember correct Albatron 5600 something like that. That card when i played Unreal 2003 if i'm correct got some weird graphical issue that happend in all 3D games that i played, it was really annoying it was like if i oc the VGA but the card was not oc in fact i didn't even know what that means really well in those days

Atleast now i;m very happy with my 6800GT
The 9800Pro i give it to my older brother
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea my friend has a 9800XT and he loves it. We're always arguing over who's card is better, my X700 Pro or his 9800XT. I'd have to say they're pretty close.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 11:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Actually, the X1300Pro is in some cases better than 6600 vanilla, but in any case, 6600 vanillas outperform the Radeon 9000 series, so by the transitive property, its the same argument. I think X1300s might be a better deal now.
TO settle this once and for all, the X1300s, or even the X1300pro DO NOT outpreform the 9800XT. All of the X1300s are 4 pipe cards with 128 bit memory. The 9800xt is an 8 pipe card with 256-bit memory.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 12:19 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea actually the 512mb X1300 will slow the card down. It takes longer for it to access all that memory, therefore it becomes slower. ATI was desperate when they made that card, probably just wanting to attract helpless people who think having 512mb of video card ram is awesome...
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.