9800SE in a Dell Modding Question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2005, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default 9800SE in a Dell Modding Question..

Ok so I have an older Dimension 4400 I have been fooling around with lately.

Here are the specs:

1.6 GHz P4 Williamette @ 2.0 GHz Stable
9800SE Click Here For The Link To The Card
768MB PC2100 RAM - 2.5-3-3-6
60GB Maxtor ATA133 HD
LITE-ON CD+RW Drive

Now what if I decided to buy a Zalman VF700-CU and replace it on the 9800SE with the stock HSF. Instead of that cheap thermal compound they give I would use AS5 of course.

It says that it is compatible with all VGA cards of the 9800SE so I am guessing it will fit. My Dell case has a TON of room. Now the question I have for you is would it be enough cooling to flash it to Pro or XT speeds for a fraction of the cost? Or could I at least OC it decently?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the VF-700 will defintely keep it cool enough for a pro flash, not sure about XT, try to OC it to XT speeds, then if its stable flash it. The VF-700 keeps my 9800pro flashed to 9800XT cool and OCed a little over stock 475/375 which stock is liek 419/360 i believe
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default Re: 9800SE in a Dell Modding Question..

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
Ok so I have an older Dimension 4400 I have been fooling around with lately.

Here are the specs:

1.6 GHz P4 Williamette @ 2.0 GHz Stable
9800SE Click Here For The Link To The Card
768MB PC2100 RAM - 2.5-3-3-6
60GB Maxtor ATA133 HD
LITE-ON CD+RW Drive

Now what if I decided to buy a Zalman VF700-CU and replace it on the 9800SE with the stock HSF. Instead of that cheap thermal compound they give I would use AS5 of course.

It says that it is compatible with all VGA cards of the 9800SE so I am guessing it will fit. My Dell case has a TON of room. Now the question I have for you is would it be enough cooling to flash it to Pro or XT speeds for a fraction of the cost? Or could I at least OC it decently?
I would guess it would do some sufficant overclocking. When I bought my 9800 PRO, it was 380/680 and I overclocked it to 450/750 on the stock cooler, but I had a few extra fans blowing on it. With a better heatsink I would think it would do the work of the extra fans I had, you should be able to reach PRO speeds at the least. Core clock on se is 350/600 so it should be really easy.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Yeah. If I can't flash that's fine, I can always OC to Pro or XT speeds
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

how were you able to o/c a dell?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

im guessing he flashed the bios from the mobo manufacter directly instead of using the dell bios's
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

or he used one of those programs that mess with the clock chip
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

You may want too add maybe another case fan in, because dell's case tend to run really hot, due to insufficient cooling.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 06:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
or he used one of those programs that mess with the clock chip
how do you do that, i want to OC my dell right now
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Yeah I used a different BIOS. And you can't add case fans, unless you cut a hole yourself. Dell's cooling is actually quite efficient.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.