9800 Pro upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2004, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default 9800 Pro upgrade

Any of you guys ever upgrade your 9800 pro to the XT? Just did it last night.

Killer performance boost. I just got a 900 point in the butt just from the bios upgrade alone.

I was scoring something in the range of 6081 on relaxed settings before the bios and last night, 3dmark03 benched at 6971 after the 9800XT bios upgrade.

I still have a few other things I can do to get it higher.

__________________

Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 15
Default

I heard that it can't be done to all ATI Radeons 9800 Pro?
__________________

theForumCity is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

There's a site I went to that helped me verify mine. I don't have access to it right now, but will post later if some doesn't beat me to it.

There are some cheaply made 9800 pro's with cheap memory. If you get a ATI or Sapphire, most likely you can do the upgrade.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Not to all Raden 9800 Pro's... just the 9800 Pro's that have 256MB memory, i.e. using DDRII memory.

I cannot do it to my Sapphire 128MB 9800 Pro.

Edit: Its not cheap memory, just a different model... DDR has lower CAS latencies than DDRII but DDRII has higher clock frequencies.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

I see a bios available for your 128MB card. Is your memory not up to it?
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

So when I buy a Radeon 9800 Pro w/ 256mb memory I can overclock to XT performance from a BIOS upgrade/thing? I assume that isn't difficult, correct?
__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

You might want to upgrade your heatsink and fan before you upgrade the bios. I noticed before I did the upgrade, I played around with overclocking the video memory and vpu and the memory started to give me artifacts just from a minor 5Mhz increase. The XT bios is going to kick your memory speed up 10Mhz I think. VPU overclocks real easy with the standard HSF.

I installed the Zalman 80d video cooler before I did the bios. It comes with memory heat sinks. Works well.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 11:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Okay I am confused - my friend has a Sapphire 9800 Pro (128MB) and he said hes done it to his and he said I wouldn't be able to do it to the one I am planning to buy because it all depends on the RAM.

I am planning on buying this one:
http://www.sapphiretech.com/vga/9800proatl.asp
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...00_Series.html - scroll down and find this product (Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Lite Retail (GX-017-SP) )

Will I be able to flash mod that?
theForumCity is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

http://www.rojakpot.com/

Try that site. It can take you through the steps of verifying your video card for upgrade.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

"Although the 256MB Radeon 9800 Pro may seem like a sheer waste of money, it may actually turn out to be a real steal! Why? Because one can actually turn the 256MB Radeon 9800 Pro into a 256MB Radeon 9800XT!"

The Radeon 9800 Pro To Radeon 9800XT Mod Guide Rev. 4.0!
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.