9600xt - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 12:14 AM   #31 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

I kinda like that actualy. I always hated Doom3 because of the total darkness. I hate the fact that it hides the low res textures. 60fps on a Voodoo2 SLI system is impressive and you gotta give it that.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:03 AM   #32 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
60fps on a Voodoo2 SLI system is impressive and you gotta give it that.
Oh, completely. I was impressed that the game was allowed to RUN on it. And it runs at 60fps to boot.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:23 AM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

The only reason its allowed to run on it is because of a major game patch created by that guy and the game allowing the cards to run SLI.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:22 PM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

aaaahhh... makes a lot more sense. Yeah, Doom 3 would be way cooler if there was more light. The flashlight idea is kindof gay. I never did like that.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 06:40 AM   #35 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

I never did like the game period. Ounce i found out that the shadows where covering up a major low res texture cover up then i stopped playing the game al-together. Now that i know i can run them on my nice Voodoo setup then i can play the game w/out all those gay *** shadows.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:08 AM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

yeah, it looks less like Doom and more like Paper Mario, but it is still impressive that he got it to run at all.
__________________
Mac G4 Conversion
--++==100% Complete==++--
Mac G4 Case
AMD AthlonXP 3000+
Biostar MicroATX KT400
512Mb Crucial DDR
Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Total Build Time: 23 Hours

Current System Specs
--++Thermaltake
Tsunami Black Case++--
Radeon x800 Pro 256mb PCI-e
1.5 Gb DDR400
AMD64 3500+
-========-========-
JLobes is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:07 PM   #37 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

Especialy w/ 256mb of ram. Even though its all on low settings and 800x600 im sure if i popped SLId Voodoo2s in my LAN rig i could run it higher.......maybe. We totaly hijacked this thread.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:01 PM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
We totaly hijacked this thread.
Like a terrorist with a deathwish.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.