9600xt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default 9600xt

I've finally found the ideal speeds for my modified 9600XT. It's 560 Mhz for core and 660 Mhz for the memory clock (560/660). Initially, it was 500/600. But see, what I don't understand is how this card, which is just plain sub-mediocre compared to the 6800s and 7800s out there, is actually running faster in terms of the gpu speed. The card jas 4 pipeline architecture, as opposed to the 12, 14, 16, 18 and 24 that some of the more advanced, pricier cards have. Yet I've only seen those cards running at 350 Mhz to 450 Mhz core. How come this outdated card of mine, the 9600XT has a higher speed? It doesn't even run close to as well as any of the more advanced cards. Can someone explain this?

btw, I know for example that some of the more advanced cards have more features (such as SM 3.0) or higher memory clockings, but what I'm asking about is solely for raw gpu processing power.

edit:
here's a shot to show you guys the clockings. Take into mind that the memory clocking indicated is pre-effective, so it should be double whatever is indicated in ATi Tool. Also, you might see the temperature jumping up and stuff but that's only cuz I put it into performace settings from resting settings, but I'll tell you that usually, when at 560/660, the temp under heavy load is about 40 C.

__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

all those pipelines on the new cards and the number of operations they can do per clock cycle is HUGE compared to your 4 pipeline setup. It's no wonder that they're kicking your card's tail. I don't know the specifics, but 8 pipelines (with the same type of core and clock) would do twice the work of a 4 pipeline setup. Clock speed is merely the frequency at which they communicate.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
all those pipelines on the new cards and the number of operations they can do per clock cycle is HUGE compared to your 4 pipeline setup. It's no wonder that they're kicking your card's tail. I don't know the specifics, but 8 pipelines (with the same type of core and clock) would do twice the work of a 4 pipeline setup. Clock speed is merely the frequency at which they communicate.

Ryan
That's what I was thinking. Thanks for the response.

Then I have another question to throw at you. I'm considering voltmodding this card. I'm not too afraid of burning it out cuz i've been looking to replace it and I have a temp card to replace it. Voltmodding will control higher frequency gpu speeds and allow more stability, but it'll create a lot of heat too. What is the max amount of heat on both idle and on load that this RV360-based chip could handle before having heat-based artifact conflict?
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I can answer your question better. Most of the newer cards such as the 7800s have a 90nm process chip. W/ that they can either lower the speeds or do what theyve been doing, raise the speeds and it will be even slower than the 130(?)nm process gpu that you have. Also, i believe the X1900XT has a core clock of 650mhz.
EDIT: Are you sure its an R-360 chip? My 9800XT is using a R-360 chip.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

yea i see the fps there on your 3dview mine reads 374+ fps, and the 7800gtx indeed slaughters my video card, so yea....
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

thanks P.P. you know how to put it to words way better than me. I retain the information, but can't regurgitate it worth a crap.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

the 9600xt uses the r360chip?
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I dont think so, but according to this guy his does.....? Yea thats why i was asking him.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

LOL!! P.P. when did you get an x2-3800?
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I got it for christmas. A little while after that i got an Ultra X-connect from Frys for like 25 bucks. On sale of course.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.