9600 dead? or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2004, 04:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default 9600 dead? or not?

i recently was removing a ati 9600 from a gateway system to move it to my system and i did not force it very much and it came out but now i get no response from the card in my systems, i am quite sure this is a total loss, but i figured i would ask... anyone got any ideas? i used a Q-tip and cleaned all the contacts and the board in general getting all dust and everything off... any other ideas or should i scrap it?
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 04:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

Well first off you should have used compressed air. secondly, have you tried everywya possible of making the card work?
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 07:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

put it back in the gateway system and see if it works there? Also you gotta remember generally when swapping out a major component of hardware a format is in order.....
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

was there any conectors on the card? like a power cable?
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

The 9600 does not need the extra molex connector.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 03:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nvidia fan boy
secondly, have you tried everywya possible of making the card work?
ok, obviously this post is trying to figure out what "everyway possible" is, so thanks alot for your amazing insights and all...

secondly it works in the gateway to display but d3d and all the features dont work, i guess its a goner... im giving it to my brother now anyways... now i gotta decide what card to buy... how about 256mb 9800 pro? hear they are best cost/performance ratio...
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 12:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

sounds good to me. sorry about the confusion though lol!
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.