8x400 or 9x370? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default 8x400 or 9x370?

Hello I have a E6600 and my chips default multiplier is 9. atm I am using 8x400 which is a 3.2. I can get steady @9x370 which is 3.3. My question is what is better? Because with 8x400 im getting 1600 FSB while only 1400FSB with 9x370.
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

9x370 is better, no less you get a higher clock. you dont what your fsb hitting that high and not getting a good clock, its just going to make your mobo hotter then it needs to be.

how is your memory at 800 with a 3.4 oc? it should be at about 900-925ish and if its a 1:1 its going to be 750 ish area.

ps sorry i never caught you online to help you i was only on for a little bit and didnt see you come on aim but happy to see you got your oc going.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

wait so having 1600 FSB is Bad?

So I should make my CPU a 3.2 by 9x356 = 3204?

Sorry i changed my sig to 3.4 when i got it to 3.4 didnt change the memory though. it was 850 i believe. 8x425. its @3.2 8x400 but i think i might change it. I just thought having my memory @ 800 and having my FSB @ 1600 was good. I wish i could get it stable @ 3.4...i must not be doing something right..
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

its not bad, but higher anything leads to more head and more wear on your system. i high fsb is ok if your gettin a high oc out of it, but to have a lower oc and your fsb working more isnt that productive. i would keep the multi at 9x and as far stable as you can get it leave it and you should be fine. 3.4-3.5 range is not common, it does happen but dont let ppl lead you to belive its a common oc for the chip. a 3.2 - 3.3 is more common and more reasonable and a pretty **** good oc at that.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

is yours overclocked to 9x370?

how are you getting 14.028 seconds...thats amazing..
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default

you can change the multiplyer on a E6600
__________________

raiders_best is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.