8GB and overclocking - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 01:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

I doubt its that big of an issue JustinTime, P45s are designed for that much memory. They can take it. The real issue here is price/performance. There is little to no performance bump with 8 gigs of ram, but 8 gigs cost a lot more than 4 gigs, which is already expensive.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 02:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I doubt its that big of an issue JustinTime, P45s are designed for that much memory. They can take it. The real issue here is price/performance. There is little to no performance bump with 8 gigs of ram, but 8 gigs cost a lot more than 4 gigs, which is already expensive.
Yes, your very right about the performance ain't really that much better, I can run every game in highest settings, with 4GB's RAM, and there is no lag, or anything. But I would only use 8GB's so you'll have the extra power for the newer games, because I heard since DirectX10 is out, games will use more power, which means you will need more RAM, but even then I'm sure 4GB's will still be great.
__________________

JustinTime91 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 02:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Software doesn't use energy, hardware does. I think what you mean is DX10 games are more demanding than DX9 games, which is true. Although the biggest determinant to Grpahics performance is your graphics card, not memory. Although memory is important.

But with 8 gigsw you run into a problem.
#1 its expensive
#2 it hurts OC performance
#3 you wont realistically use 8 gigs on a pc today
#4 even if you had crysis, photoshop, cod4 and premeir all open at the same time to fill up that 8 gigs, you would choke on your cpu and video card first.
#5 memory does not directly impact system performance, so you wont see a boost. memory only helps when you go from an insufficient amount to enough.

I have 4 gigs of ram. it didn't make hardly any difference in gaming performance over 2 gigs. This is probably due to the fact that crysis doesn't even use a gig of ram itself. If I wanted to improve gaming I would get a better cpu or video card first.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

guys 8gb does make a difference from 4gb.....and on newer chipsets it won't hurt ocing unless you are trying to do like 600fsb or something insane.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

i didnt really notice a difference in everyday life from 2 to 3....

maybe if i was making some high res photoshop pictures yes.... but.. at the moment i'm not.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 04:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

2 sticks of 4gb might not hurt OC. It would be like 4 sticks of 2gb that would cause an issue. But again, it depends on the chipset and the BIOS. You're right though zmatt, there would be bottlenecks on the CPU and video card before 8gb would be utilized.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 05:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

i think 8 gb's at my work would be a blessing....

i'm constantly running 400 dpi posters and flyers and what not.. with at least 5-10 files open in both illustrator and photoshop....
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 08:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinTime91 View Post
I would only get 8GB's if you really know what you're doing, because you really don't need 8GB's YET, but future games surely will, but if you think you can just pop 8GB's in, and start playing, YOUR WRONG. when you add 8GB's of RAM, nearly every pc has to bump the RAM Voltage from 1.8V to about 2.1V, or even more. Also you might have to add more Voltage to your SB, and NB. Other wise your computer will fail on every boot. So I would add 8GB's but I just want you to know it ain't plug-and-play, like veryone thinks it is usually.
YET? I don't think we will ever need 8 gigs of ram to play a game. At least not for like another 10 years or somethung. And by the point in which we would ever need 8 gigs (still not likely) you would have old slow ram, it's not in the near future, or even distant, so why waste money now...?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 08:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Tresh, don't ever say something like that. Bill gates is known for saying "I don't see why anyone would need more than 640k of ram"

We will always need more, the question is when and how much.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 08:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

No, we really will not. Not to play a game anyways. To play games and record, you really don't even need more than 4. And two will suffice fine. I can play games on high, with my crap cpu, crap gpu, and the 3 gigs of 800 mhz ram. Anything more is just overkill and isn't needed.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Dominator PC8500 (8GB) Timing Question mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 1 08-22-2008 10:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.