8GB and overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2008, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default 8GB and overclocking

hey guys

ok so after trying to overclock my Q6600 the past few weeks i found out that my ram and mobo are complete trash togeather (well not exactly thay work but not as well as i like)

so i spent a bit of time looking at the gigabyte mobo spe'c and what ram it is good with and ended up picking these

GeIL 8GB PC2-6400 C5 Black Dragon (4x2GB) - Aria Technology

so tommow (pay day) i'm going to go pick these up, and test them with 2x2GB and 2x4GB and a oc on each to see what i get

now the thing is i would like to know what every one things of going to 8gb and haveing a OC to
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

chances are you really won't notice a difference running 8gb, and it may hinder your OC if you are using 4 sticks. It depends on your mobo really. I don't even really notice a dramatic difference between 2 and 4gb (except with Crysis Warhead).
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

The more sticks of RAM, the harder it is to OC them. This is because each stick has slightly different OC characteristics.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

This isn't as much of an issue with the newer P45s, but you have a P35. When you OC go down to 2 sticks. Also, I don't think you will see that much of a performance increase with 8 gigs of ram over 2 or 4.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

only way to know is to find out, but the P35 chipset is not really ideal for clocking 8gb...the P45 is best for something like that as it's designed to handle large amounts of memory (4gb single dimms for example)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

8gb oc'ing from what i understand is a task... i've been doing reading on xs.. and anytime the 4 dimms are filled it hinders oc performance.. and the ram will tend to need more voltage than normal to operate (overclocked)
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

You will see no improvement from going to 4-8 gigs. Ram really doesn't make your computer faster, just how much it can handle. And really no programs added together require more than 4 gigs at this point.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
Ram really doesn't make your computer faster, just how much it can handle.
Well yeah i guess, but if you have 512mb like me and do 3d work, then a 2GB upgrade will speed up your pc because it wont have to read/write from the harddrive to make up for the lack of space. So it will.

But not from 4Gigs to 8Gigs.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 10:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

You will over tax your cpu before you fill up 8 gigs of memory. There is a reason only multi processor servers have that much memory.

If you have a skultrail based system then it would make more sense. But who actually has one?
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central, TX
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to JustinTime91
Default Re: 8GB and overclocking

I would only get 8GB's if you really know what you're doing, because you really don't need 8GB's YET, but future games surely will, but if you think you can just pop 8GB's in, and start playing, YOUR WRONG. when you add 8GB's of RAM, nearly every pc has to bump the RAM Voltage from 1.8V to about 2.1V, or even more. Also you might have to add more Voltage to your SB, and NB. Other wise your computer will fail on every boot. So I would add 8GB's but I just want you to know it ain't plug-and-play, like veryone thinks it is usually.
__________________

JustinTime91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Dominator PC8500 (8GB) Timing Question mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 1 08-22-2008 10:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.