8800gtx 11% faster - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2007, 09:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default 8800gtx 11% faster

Look at this external cooler for a gtx just to oc it that lil bit further http://www.engadget.com/2007/02/07/a...00-gtx-graphi/
__________________

saltynay is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

cool....but not worth it.....i would rather get a custom watercooling loop.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

That's a pretty good idea.

If you're not into huge watercooling set ups, but want to get the biggest OC out of your 8800gtx, without using a full blown water cooling or extreme cooling solution, this would definetly be for yuou.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

....Not enough room when you run two. You really have space issues.
augest is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by augest
....Not enough room when you run two. You really have space issues.
That applys to the small amount of people that can afford to spend a thousand dollars on their video cards alone haha.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

lol space issues with 2 im sure modders will think of a way to fit it all in and then add a physics card just to posh it off :P:P::P
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

apparently the 8 series cards have an integrated PPU, or so i have read around here. that is just ridiculous though, Asus say it's a space saver. of course, all space saving solutions take 4 slots and actually block a PCI slot .
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 08:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

nice decal stickers
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 08:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Yeah, Unless motherboard companies drop the "ATX" form and start making motherboards in "stupidly big" then I don't see any reason to own one of these. It's a cool idea but not very practical. The card itself already takes up a huge amount of space, most people run a sound card or Network card. By the time you put a water-cooling card in you won't have any space left for what you actually need in there.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

if they had an all in 1 set up that sat in your 5 1/4 bay, i would get it
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.