8800 GTX power - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2006, 05:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
That's 321 watts at load for the 8800GTX. I'm not sure if they were measuring just the card or the whole system, but if they're measuring just the card then you'd need 642 watts for two.
This is true. Either way, it gets the point across that you won't need 50KW for two 8800GTX's, like i'm sure too many people believe.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 06:02 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

It's not your PSU thats the problem. If it was, you would know, because your computer would be crashing.
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 07:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
This is true. Either way, it gets the point across that you won't need 50KW for two 8800GTX's, like i'm sure too many people believe.
Yes, so, like I said before...700w or more would be fine. You would have way more than you need...but isn't that a good thing? Plus, if you got a really good brand like PCP&C or Thermaltake, Antec, Hiper...whatever...you could keep the same one for quite a while without upgrading. In the end, you'd be saving money by not having to upgrade as often.

Not 50KW....but give it a few years.


So, anyway, back on topic....

will h4x 4 food: If it's not getting quite enough power as it should, it may be running slightly unstable. Maybe not enough to give errors, but it might not run at optimal speeds.1
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 08:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick

the current does add up. part of the power will be provided via rail 1 which will be in the ATX connector, part by another rail which the PCI-E power is on.
i did say this on the first page of this thread. i didn't realise the 8800 had two auxillary connectors. well if each PCI-E power is on a seperate rail and you have a decent PSU you will get quite a lot of power available to the card given it has three 12v rails available to it (the ATX 12v is always a seperate rail and provides power via the PCI-E slot).
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 10:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

I just built a rig for a friend and were running a 8800gtx on this power supply:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163109

It seams to be working just fine but the heat that thing generates is insane. Its hitting 85c when playing oblivion on max.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:30 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
if you're using your 4800 and a 7800 gt in 3dmk06, i think 7k is an ok score.
besides, if it plays games well on high settings with no lag, who cares what the benchmark score is...?
oh sorry, didnt update my sig. 7800 gt is my old thing. and it doesnt play games at high settings with no lag. thats the problem. dark messiah gets down to 10 FPS with HDR and AA on. i have to turn it all off to get playable frames and then it looks bad. anyway when i was reading about these people who are getting over 5 figures in 3dmarks i noticed something... all these guys are using those core 2 e6600 things. lets suppose for a second my CPU is whats holding me back. (although i'd think my processor which is 50 mhz less than an fx 62 wouldn't be bottlenecking anything). would the upgraded CPU help my benchmarks (boost only the CPU tests thus raising my 3dmark score) or would i actually get better FPS in the graphic tests and in games?

edit: renamed thread to 8800 GTX performance problem (renamed from 8800 GTX power)
edit: never mind i didnt.. i cant edit the OP any more lol
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:32 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jumping_Bean514
I just built a rig for a friend and were running a 8800gtx on this power supply:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163109

It seams to be working just fine but the heat that thing generates is insane. Its hitting 85c when playing oblivion on max.
My X800GTO used to hit 89*C while playing BF2 on max, lol.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 07:59 AM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

Hey lazer _ viking i think your sig is too big i think its a 6 userbar limit....
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:08 AM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Preacher
Hey lazer _ viking i think your sig is too big i think its a 6 userbar limit....
lol thanks. not that that couldn't be said in a pm or anything :]]
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 12:35 PM   #30 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
if you're using your 4800 and a 7800 gt in 3dmk06, i think 7k is an ok score.
besides, if it plays games well on high settings with no lag, who cares what the benchmark score is...?
7k with a 7800 would be an unbefreakinleavable 3dmark06 score! def used the 8800GTX for that. I just broke 6100 with my voltmoded 7900GT
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.