8800 GTX power - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2006, 03:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

the reason i ask is because as i said, my PSU has 24 A on the 12v and 20 on the other 12v rail. (is that right/possible? im pretty sure thats what it means) my card turns on and plays games, but not as impressive as i expected. and i only get a little under 7000 3dmark06 bench. so something is wrong, agreed? lol. will a new PSU fix everything? or whats going on here?
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
it seems TriEclipse's sticky hasn't made that great an impact. check out the Building Buying and Upgrading for General PCs page.
Glad you said something. I had no idea it was even there. It was incredibly helpful. Everyone should really read it. Great stuff!
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Watts are useless. You have to look at the ampage and the tempature its rated to be running at.

Yeah, so if you had one of those sweet top-of-the-line 250W PSU's with 70A, you could run anything....


Watts are just as important as amps. The 8800GTX consumes a lot of power, if you don't have sufficient power to give it and the rest of your system, you're going to have problems.

You should have around 300 - 350 watts dedicated for the 8800GTX. If you had a 500 watt PSU, that only leaves 200 - 150 watts left for the entirety of your system.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
Yeah, so if you had one of those sweet top-of-the-line 250W PSU's with 70A, you could run anything....
Actually, it's pretty close.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=131824

Quote:
* Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700
* NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI based motherboard
* 2x1GB PC2-6400
* NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTX
* Western Digital Raptor 150
Consumes only 273W at idle. Granted, you wouldn't want to run your PSU at max while idling, because, one, booting up requires more power than idling, and two, running at max means more heat, heat equals quicker PSU failure.

So you'd truthfully need maybe 500W max, provided 12V rails have enough power, and you could run two 8800GTX's.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

so do the amps get added? like the 8800 GTX has two power connectors (as you all know). i'm using a 6 pin connector off of each rail (one is 24a the other is 20a). are the amps added together to make 44a?

im trying to determine if i need a new PSU or not
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Yes the amps get added.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371002

3 12V rails. Total of 54A.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazer_viking
so do the amps get added? like the 8800 GTX has two power connectors (as you all know). i'm using a 6 pin connector off of each rail (one is 24a the other is 20a). are the amps added together to make 44a?

im trying to determine if i need a new PSU or not
yes thats why i said you would be hard pressed to find a (lemme add DECENT) 500w psu that didn't have at least 30A on the 12v.
which is combined total from the 12v rails.

Quote:
that is really far from the truth. MAKE SURE you check
so...no, actually not far fom the truth. but do check to be sure.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 05:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

okayyyyyyyy so lets do more in depth trouble shooting... why am i getting a little less than 7000 3dmark06 score?

i havent done a run with my OC'd CPU yet though.... am i just being overly dissapointed? i think there was more hype over this than there is performance.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 05:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
Actually, it's pretty close.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=131824



Consumes only 273W at idle. Granted, you wouldn't want to run your PSU at max while idling, because, one, booting up requires more power than idling, and two, running at max means more heat, heat equals quicker PSU failure.

So you'd truthfully need maybe 500W max, provided 12V rails have enough power, and you could run two 8800GTX's.
Quote:
Watts
Radeon X1950 XTX GeForce 8800GTX
Idle
184
229
Load
308
321
That's 321 watts at load for the 8800GTX. I'm not sure if they were measuring just the card or the whole system, but if they're measuring just the card then you'd need 642 watts for two.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 05:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

if you're using your 4800 and a 7800 gt in 3dmk06, i think 7k is an ok score.
besides, if it plays games well on high settings with no lag, who cares what the benchmark score is...?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.