8800 GTX power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default 8800 GTX power

I'm surprised there aren't more threads of this nature... I searched and didn't find any so don't flame please :[[

I found out I had a problem last night when I was averaging 20 FPS in the first test of 3Dmark06. Hopefully the 8800 GTX is capable of a whole lot more than that or I've been mislead :P lol. I have an Aspire (Apevia) beast power PSU. It's 680w with 24A on 12v+. It is to my understanding that 30A is required. It takes two power connectors for this card though... do the amps get added? with two 24A connectors does that equal 48A total or not? I think it doesn't but im just making sure ^.^
Anyway I'm just getting confirmation that my PSU doesn't have enough umph for my new GPU before I get http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703005
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

If you get new, get like a 700W or so, just so you have headway. The card takes around 300watts to itself. :O

Now, it depends if each PCI-e connector is on it's own rail. If so, it would share the amps...but if they're on the same rail then no.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

from what i learned in the past few days watts don't mean as much as i thought they did. i could have a PSU with 600 watts (80 less than i have now) but if it had 30A on the 12v it would be fine, right?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Watts are useless. You have to look at the ampage and the tempature its rated to be running at.

Aspire is horrible but PCP&P is one of the best. You'll see that good PSUs are rated @ 40C to 50C while the bad ones are at 25C and have most of the power on rails other than the 12v.
turtile is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya just buy a quality psu with good 12v rail amperage.

Watts are just for newbs to justify buying a powersupply
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i dont think you can find a 500watt, let alone a 600watt, psu that has less than 30A on the 12v. but if you do, don't buy it lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
i dont think you can find a 500watt, let alone a 600watt, psu that has less than 30A on the 12v. but if you do, don't buy it lol.
that is really far from the truth. MAKE SURE you check
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it seems TriEclipse's sticky hasn't made that great an impact. check out the Building Buying and Upgrading for General PCs page.

the current does add up. part of the power will be provided via rail 1 which will be in the ATX connector, part by another rail which the PCI-E power is on.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to radtadtod
Default

8800. is. so. freaking. Huge. In every way.
__________________
phaux keeng mahuds.
radtadtod is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The only thing small about the 8800 is it's transistors, so they can fit 681 million of them on a die.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.