7950GT temps, is this ok? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 02:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Whatever people may say, those temperatures are not normal. If your case has adequate airflow, your card should be 40-50 idle and 50-70 stressed. I find 70 quite high already and I really recommend against running your card that hot. Get the Zalman VF900Cu and install it, or improve the airflow on your case.
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 06:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Phrantic
Whatever people may say, those temperatures are not normal. If your case has adequate airflow, your card should be 40-50 idle and 50-70 stressed. I find 70 quite high already and I really recommend against running your card that hot. Get the Zalman VF900Cu and install it, or improve the airflow on your case.
ATI runs MUCH hotter than nVidia. My old card was a 7900GT and my load temp was 55 degrees. When I added my 1900XTX the temps were at 85-90 on load. I have the same case and same amount of fans as when I had my 7900GT.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 09:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nVdia
ATI runs MUCH hotter than nVidia. My old card was a 7900GT and my load temp was 55 degrees. When I added my 1900XTX the temps were at 85-90 on load. I have the same case and same amount of fans as when I had my 7900GT.
Yeah, but who buys ATi these days. And the topic starter has a Nvidia card.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

My X1900XT idles at 38c and load 45c no OC (Stock Sapphire cooling)
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 07:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

if ur worried about your psu fan blowing down, u can usually find some cheap ducting to direct to hot air out the back of the case.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
if ur worried about your psu fan blowing down, u can usually find some cheap ducting to direct to hot air out the back of the case.
The fan is a 120mm cooling fan thats blowing down(i believe?) and then the hot air from the psu is going out the normal place(out the back where the power cord plugs in)
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Phrantic
Yeah, but who buys ATi these days. And the topic starter has a Nvidia card.
Me
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 07:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Default

I have this card although my computer says the memory clock is 700 mhz is this normal? i thought it was supposed to be around 1400 mhz???
helemthead is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 07:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

It's Double Data Rate.


So double of 700 is?

700 x 2 = 1400 Effective.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 03:04 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

G71 can generally go a bit hotter than the older G70 chips anyway.

i got mine the day of a small LAN at my house. stock cooling, stock clocks, and it was running at 85*C for most of the day. it was perfectly fine, not an arti in sight.

since, i have balanced a 120 on top of the stock cooler, blowing down onto the card which has dropped the load to 67*C, with clocks of 560/800.

in short.... dont worry!
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.