7900gtx - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2006, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default 7900gtx

Hello guys. just purchased a pixleview7900gtx today. The problem i'm having is that on the 05 mark i see no improvement on the frameratefrom my 7800gt. I'm having trouble understanding why.. Any help would be appreciated. My system is down below.. Also with the xp overclocking tool my clock freq say 650 core clock and 800 memory clock... Is that right also? It should be 650 and 1600 i thought
__________________

__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:01 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

well theres not that much of a diff between those two cards. theyre both awesome cards. what kind of card was ur 7800? and ur mem should be higher than that. and imo an eVGA 7900 is better than pixelview.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

he didnt ask you to recommend him another card, if he wanted that he would have asked for it. Everybody know EVGA is a top line card but who wants to spend 1200NZ$ plus on one of those. And no there is miles of difference in performance between a 7800gt and a 7900gtx, so your guess is way wrong. I personally think it may be a bios version issue or a setting in bios, maybe agp aperture size, or possibly a PCI express setting. Also physically the card should have all power connectors in place as that can cause performance issues if done wrong.
espeed is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

and as for the 800mhz thing you have to multiply that by 2 for the ddr memory, don't know why they havent done that with past cards, but that answers that. like the guy above said, check the 6 pin power connector for the card, don't know much about the psu, and too lazy to look at the moment.
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 06:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

At the moment we havce a problem with 3dmark05 detectecting the card, it does not detect the clock speeds, and instead reads as 0 for both clock speed and memory clock. Also when running 3dmark test, it is running at slower frames than a 7800gtx. V-sync is application controlled, so its not that. Power connector is in fine so its gettin plenty of juice. PSU is a 500w with a single 12v rail of 18A.

When he starts oblivion up for the first time, it says it cant recognise his visual hardware so there is definately an issue here with the graphiccs card not being detected. Maybe a reinstall of windows is on the cards??

His motherboard is a Gigabyte 915PL (GA-81915PL-G).

We are running 84.21 drivers
espeed is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Default

well my 12volt rail isnt suplying enough power.. thats my prob
__________________
Incar Upholstery ltd.. Custom Auto Trimming in NZ
Cm Stacker 831//600watt enermax noisetaker//Asus p5n32-e sli//Intel E6600@3.5//2 x 1gig corsair xms2 ddr2 800 @ 900mhz//250gig seagate 7200 harddrive+320gig w/d//sb audigy2zx//8800gtx//Cooling loop:swifttech pump>blackice 240 rad>dd tdx cpu block>swiftech chipset block>ocnz res\\z-board gaming keyboard// razer krait mouse //22inch cmv widescreen
trimmin is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

hmmm...

I had a psu @ 500W with a 12v rail of 17A


it blew up...


I recomend getting a new one before something serious happens...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 08:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I recommend this power spully and im sure alot more people will aggree with me on this one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 09:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Or this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 10:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

wow that ocz only has 26A on the 12v rails, that's not very high, or does something else make that a really good PSU?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.