7900GT Voltmod Cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default 7900GT Voltmod Cooling

Will the Zalman VF900 be enough to cool my board if i try for the 1.55V mod?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

that seems to be what everyone else is using.. maybe for 1.50 it'll do good.. but i do not know about 1.55 :-x
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

1.55 is pushing it.


1.5 is more then enough.


You could try and if its too much just erase with acetone and do 1.5

1.55 was high on my GT, with a VF900, so I went to 1.4 until the winter comes
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

nah do it. i did it. im xtreme. haha jk. your load temps will probably be around 60C if your ok with that.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

60*C is just fine, thats what my load temp was w/stock cooling
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

You have to watch out once you break 80 C.

Core slowdown is 120C.


Dont break 100.

You should be fine.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 03:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I got to 1.68V and 750MHZ (core) with the VF900

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=116776
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

yikes, dont think i'm goin over 1.55 for now at least... dont want to sodder!
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 69
Default

not to hijack or anything, but how far would you guys recommend going on a 7900 w/ a VF700? Is there much of a noticable difference between the two coolers?
__________________
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...s/3/8/css1.jpg

AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.25Ghz | Zalman CNPS9500 | DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D | eVGA 7900GT KO SC | Zalman VF700 | 2 x 1GB Gskill PC 4000 | 2 x WD 320 GB HDD\'s | Audigy2 ZS | Logitech X-530s | Saitek Eclipse | Tsunami Dream
DarkS1d3 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

the vf 700 does not have heatpipes. heat pipes are used to collect vapor and condense it and return it to the base of the heat sink. consider boiling water, no matter how much energy you put into it, it always boils at 100*C, it just boils faster. it is the same thing here except the liquid boils around 45*C so your gpu never gets hotter than that.
thats all i know, no clue as to high high u can go.
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.