7900GS Voltmod? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 09:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default 7900GS Voltmod?

I have a eVGA 7900GS OC KO card that has been a great overclocker so far. I can push it well past 600mhz core and 1.4ghz memory from the 500/1380 stock speeds. And under load it only gets 40C after 4+ hours of BF2 at max settings, so heat is not a problem.

Anyways I have heard that the GS line has the same board layout as the GT, but while looking into it last night i saw a post (forget where) that says somebody tried this and the pencil mod was in different spots.

So do you think I could pencil mod it? Will it give me that much more of an OC? My current OC is about par with the other 7900gs's.
__________________

__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

what have u been overclocking with? you should turn it waaaay down imediately

get atitool... not for overclocking, it is for scanning for artifacts. you will probably get artifacting within 5 minutes. you should be able to run it for hours w/o artifacting if you have a stable overclock.

i assure you you do not have a stable overclock right now.

have you been monitoring your temps?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

...i assure you i have a stable overclock right now...

http://www.fiziks.org/images/videocard-stable.jpg

I have stress tested with ATi tool as well as the nTune for 6+ hours each, no errors. And as for temps I monitor with nTune, nVidia drivers, PC Wizard, and ATi tool which all give me the same reading. Only PC Wizard give me a 698C reading, but the does not go up or down with load. I have a Zalman cooler on it, and a 250mm fan blowing onto that. And my ambient room temp is usually around 20C (I like being cold.)

Back to my question. Can I do a pencil mod to possibly up my voltage?
__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

wait 25cm fan? how the he11 does that fit in the corner of your case?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

25MM Lancec......
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

no it says "250mm" in his post. so that is 25cm, I am assuming that he made a typo.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

uhh yeah that's what I was pointing out....
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 09:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

no.. its a 25CM fan on my Thermaltake Armor case.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133021

now does anyone know anything about voltmodding a 7900GS?
__________________

__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.