7900 GT volt mod Sucsess! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default 7900 GT volt mod Sucsess!

I volt modded my GT stock clocked 550/790


as we all know the stock voltage on the GT is 1.2

for those that dont know, the 7900 GT is basically a underclocked/volted 7900 GTX with half the ram.

7900 GTX's are stock cloked at 1.4


I volt modded my GT to 1.4, so I can call it a GTX. Kinda.


I was able to push the core all the way up to 680 no problems.


Memory is WAY up to.

Cant wait to bench this thing.... I might even go to 1.5 for a 700 core...

I used a conductive pen wich I will be lending to my fellow freind PZEROFGH





Il work on getting a bigger pic sorry guys
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

Good job, I love my voltmods.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

same.


WTK, on your 7900 gt, when running intensive 3D applications, did you hear a high pitched Whine almost coming from the card?


alot of people hear this but Im not sure what the cuase is.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Should I do it to mine?
I have an eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked.

Is it dangerous? Reversable?
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

no becuase your voltage is at 1.5


Get a vf900 and slap it on, and your looking at 700+ Core clocks.




So in general, you should be able to OC the **** out of that.

no its not dangerous unless you make it to like 1.7 voltage, and yes its reverseable as in you can take it off and such...



So basically you dont have to anything except buy a new heatsink...
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Oh, mines like factory volt-modded?
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Pretty Much....


Except when OCing that, Watch the IC's on the back.

They get HOT


So I stuck some ram sinks on them, but even that isnt doing the trick..


But I heard a BIOS update can fix it ... Il have to look into some more.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

That's it? I got 710/805.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

you have the CO right not the KO?

hmm..

Interesting...

and its all stable?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Be forewarned that a 7900GT is a 7900GT for a reason and I've already heard bits and pieces of those evga KO Superclocked cards malfuctioning. Not to say yours will, but if it's a 7900GT it's most likely that way because either the PCB or the core itself does not like vcore like the 7900GTX PCB/core. For example, 6800GTs could be flashed to Ultras which involved a slight change in the vcore, however they had a habit of dying after a few months. That said, this is a hardware modification and not a softmod so it may be a bit different

That said, if what you said is true and the 7900GT and 7900GTX are infact the same PCB you might be able to avoid voiding your warranty and possibly damaging your card by trying to softmod your vcore first. It's basically a 50/50 chance, but if the PCBs are the same in theory they should be able to support the same voltage settings and you should be able to simply edit the BIOS to increase the voltage. To test if it works, simply try overclocking your core again and see if it goes further
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.