7900/7950 GT Voltmod Guide - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 08:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Default

That card must weigh 15 pounds (6.82Kgs) with all those ram sinks and gpu sink =)

Not to discredit your effort but there's another forum that has slightly better depiction of the modification as well as how to vmod the mem. I'd be happy to point anyone interested to that URL.
__________________

LaserCobra is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 03:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's not that heavy. a bit heavier than most cooling solutions, but doesn't strain the card.
as a matter of fact the VF900 is pretty light.

of course there's going to be better guides out there. I still think it's easy enough to follow.

the only real prerequisite for part of this guide, is to know how to solder.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

It's a very nice guide although the pictures are very blurry. It is kind of hard to see where you have to solder. Mabey you can get clearer pictures in macro mode (most cameras have it).
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah, I took several pictures. the ones I put there were the ones that came out best. I think the close range has something to do with it.

what kind of picture is normally associated with macro mode?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 10:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Macro mode = object is about 3 inches [7.6 cm] (100% literally) away from camera lens.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:10 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there's several settings on the camera, but I am not sure what would be "macro mode"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 09:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Is this thing worth it? I mean, with my card im running the old drivers so the fan isnt on full blast, OC'd to 540 / 780 and w/o the fan on full i still only hit like 60C. I might throw in a 120mm fan and do this voltmod. What kind of performance increase can you get in practical gaming? at say...650 core?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

650 core will usually give you over 33% extra performance; provided your CPU doesn't bottleneck it.

currently I have a Sempron 2800+ at 2.0GHZ. this has been bottlenecking it a fair bit. (that's the next thing for me to upgrade - but I'm still waiting on my tax return)
but, if you turn the image quality up to full, then the card will use more of its potential, even with a slower CPU.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 12:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I own a XFX 7900GT volt modded with a vf900 fan i idle around 59-60c not sure if its normal im just curious to know if it is
ynnubekacnap is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 02:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

as long as it doesnt go past about 70
what are your load temps?
(you can use ATI Tool artifact scanning, then look at the temperatures)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.