7800GTX questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 06:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default 7800GTX questions

if i pair a 7800GTX with a DFI lanparty nF4 Ultra-D mobo, 1 gig of OCZ enhanced latency. and the processor is an amd athlon 64 3000+ would that be bottlenecking that i should get a better processor for the video card?
__________________

PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 07:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Games are more gpu based, and the CPU doesn't really make a huge difference, as long as it isn't a very week one.

The AMD 64 3000 is compareable to a 3.4ghz P4. http://www20.tomshardware.com/cpu/20...html#directx_9 and as you can see it doesn't make a huge difference getting a better CPU.

And you can always overclock, as you have the best board for overclocking. Paired up with a Venice core, you can get a high overclock.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 08:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

well, im asking if it will be bottlenecking my system. its like buying this video card for a P3. thats what im asking, can my processor like handle it or something. as the looks of it i think it can.

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...istCurrent.asp

good for playing bf2?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Their's a bit of a bottleneck, but that can be relived by overclocking

Your link doesnt link to a build
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Technically your GPU will be bottlenecked, yes. Frankly though you'll get such an immediate boost from the sheer power of a 7800 GTX that you won't care less about the 'weak' CPU restricting the card. The only real area where you'll gain a little from having a more powerfull CPU is in highly physics-intensive areas of, say, HL2.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

you'll notice a bottleneck when you try and play gary's mod for HL2, but then again, the rocket launcher lags on FX 57's
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I really don't think it will be a bottleneck as much as you are saying, as it is not like, not having enough ram, where there is no where to store the information, so the PC uses the HDD.

Gary's version is probally badly made, but I never heard of it before.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Gary's mod is soo powerful

You could make it lag on a 100ghz AMD processor on the same artechture easily.

Once your building something like a house, all it takes is one little explosion to have a million object collision's
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Wow....

Was not meant for this generation, lol.

Got to love the HL2 engine.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

that link leads to an

aspire x-infinity case w/ 350watt psu

1 120mm aspire red case fan

2 powmax 80mm red case fan

DFI lanparty nF4 ultra-D

eVGA 256MB 7800GTX w/ bf2

aspire 500watt psu

amd athlon 64 3000+

1 gig OCZ enhanced latency

plus OCing to about 2.4 on stock

1077 dollars minus 10 mail in rebate so a total of 1066 without shipping


in this link
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...ing/page13.asp
as you can see that on the lowest quality thers a pretty big different between the fx and the 3000+ but on the higher settings with aa and af its pretty much the same

i may OC to about the 3500 range


OR

x-infinity w/ 350watt

aspire 500 watt

DFI lanparty nF4 ultra-D

1 gig of OCZ enhanced latency

amd athlon 64 3700+ san diego,

eVGA 7800GTX w/ bf2

1,259 with shipping and everything

is the first one betteer, or the second one, im thinking the second one.
but then the case may get HOT, and i cant afford any more case fans.
i could go with OCZ 1 gig performance series for 112 dollars and buy some case fans with the extra 10 dollars i got...?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.