7800gt Bfg - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default 7800gt Bfg

I got the 7800 GT BFG and am wondering what the best setting for overclocking are. From there I'll experiment. Any help is greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Go as far as you can get it, if you start to see slashes or dots, you have to downclock it, because you went to far
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

k, thanks!
__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

use riva tuner it rox got my 6600GT up to 579/1303 from 500/1000 and got me a 4075 in 3dmark05 all settings default and card overclocked
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

did you let your card burn in a little? It probably wouldn't be a bad idea to run it stock for a week or two.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
Go as far as you can get it, if you start to see slashes or dots, you have to downclock it, because you went to far
I'm a bit scared about overclocking my card, but am willing to take the chance. How much would overclocking hurt the card temp wise?
gene4228 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

The amount of heat determines on the cooler and how high you push it. The higher it is the hotter it will run.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I see, so having a stock cooling system wouldn't be wise to overclock the card.
gene4228 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 03:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

You can to some extent. The 7800's (or atleast my GTX) came with a pretty pissed off cooler. It's always risky to OC with stock cooling. I put on the NV Silencer by Arctic Cooling, mainly for noise reduction, but also for better cooling. I actually bought it before I got the card and when I opened the box the first thing I thought was "sh!t that is one hell of a stock cooler! I could actually leave this thing on if I had to." Like I said, I don't know what the GT comes with, but the stock cooler on the GTX probably would have been fine, especially since the 7800 GPU runs much cooler than the 6800 anyways.

Google this and find somewhere that has a table of temperatures with stock coolers vs. aftermarket coolers, those are always helpful.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.