7800GS is amazing - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 03:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I didnt say a pretty big difference in bandwidth. Just a big difference, AGP is now considered outdated technology and is being phased out. Thats whay I meant by big difference.
Ahh, well considering that guy said "stuck with a 6800GS" I'm figuring he's referring to power, and with your comment, I thought you were making it sound like the PCI-E had an insane advantage over AGP or something.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 09:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Hey, I'm the one that is stuck with a 6600GT.... I think I have one of the lower end cards now. :'(
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 10:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

i love my 6800GS and it plays every game i throw at it with med.high settings
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 11:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

RMAing stuff is great for a free upgrades. I RMA'd my 6800 standard and recieved a full refund, to get a 7800gt for £10 (I had to buy a new motherboard though.)

Thats a nice big increase on 05 there.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 02:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Hey, I'm the one that is stuck with a 6600GT.... I think I have one of the lower end cards now. :'(
I still have an ATI Radeon 9200. So compared to me, you have a highend card. Enjoy.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

Funny thing is hes complaining about being "stuck" w/ a 6800GS. I have a 6800GT (shouldnt when i get home) and am super happy because it plays everything maxed out so far. For me this 7800GS should be plenty enough. Also, the 7800GS whoops the GT and GS both on PCI-E and AGP. FOr AGP id say thats not bad. I wish i could just go home and put it in but i gotta stay after school.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 105
Default

im gonna get a evga e-Geforce 7800GT is that any good?
armyofswiss is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, but this isn't really the place to bring it up. It's more powerful than the 7800GS.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BillGates
You have a PCI-E card, the 7800GS is AGP. Pretty big difference.
Not really much difference at all. In terms of speed anyway.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 07:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
and i'm stuck here with a 6800gs.
Oooh. Poor you

I am stuck with an Ati Rage 128 pro. I can't even play bzflag on lowest settings.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.