700MHZ On New Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2004, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Dragan Send a message via Yahoo to Dragan
Default 700MHZ On New Motherboard

hi guys i just bought the parts to build a computer accept a cpu i have a old 700MHZ cpu which i would like to stick into my new system it is a old 700MHZ Celeron here is the motherboard to see if it supports it.

http://www.zipcomputers.com.au/store...28sc01t084v5tg
__________________

__________________
DRAGAN
Dragan is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

celerons used to be made to go on socket 370 (i think) mobos, i dont know the exact number of pins but if urs is one of those it will not work on the mobo u selected. The newer celerons are being made to work with the 478 sockets but id bet that ur cpu is not one of those.
__________________

__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

Why not buy a new CPU? If you really on a budget heres a 1.7Ghz Celeron for $57. Trust me you will notice the difference.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...112-169&depa=1

I think you get a free shirt for buying this CPU. WHAT A DEAL!
Bostonsox46 is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Dragan Send a message via Yahoo to Dragan
Default

i am from Australia not the U.S and computers parts here a whommper of money is cost $315 For and AMD ATHLON 3200+ i dont realy know where to get those kind of cpu in aus
__________________
DRAGAN
Dragan is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Whommper is an awesome word. And yeah, that mobo and cpu are not compatible. Only thing you can do now is find a dirt cheap p4 celeron.
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.