6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2008, 01:17 PM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
lol I wish you were right, but what kind of logic is that...people have put 2V through Wolfdale chips for crazy OCs but that doesn't mean 1.6V is fine

1.6V is pushing it on 90nm, let alone 45nm
1.6V is fine on 90nm. I know from experience.
I ran my 6000+ at about 1.55-1.6V 24/7, and when overclocking went up to about 1.725

And yes, these are different to Intel chips. I am quite sure AMD's chips can hande it.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:19 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

I'll be happy to eat my words when proven wrong, but I think to even theorize, let alone be "quite sure" that 1.6V will be fine for 24/7 on Deneb is completely daft.

And I have experience with 90nm AMD chips as well, I know that 1.6V is pretty much the extreme upper limit of running 24/7 and it's sort of risky...just like the Q6600. Lots of people have run their Conroes and Kentsfields at 1.6V for ages...but it's not something many would do.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:21 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
I'll be happy to eat my words when proven wrong, but I think to even theorize that 1.6V will be fine for 24/7 on Deneb is completely daft.

And I have experience with 90nm AMD chips as well, I know that 1.6V is pretty much the extreme upper limit of running 24/7 and it's sort of risky...just like the Q6600. Lots of people have run their Conroes and Kentsfields at 1.6V for ages...but it's not something many would do.
It's only really risky if you haven't got the cooling for it. Or if you forget to also increase the HTT voltage somewhat.

I've heard that the K8 IMC can sometimes be killed if the core voltage is too high vs the HTT voltage, but other than that, Windsor take voltage pretty well.

*edit*
Intel don't use SOI like AMD/IBM do, so the properties of their chips are going to be different.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 04:48 PM   #34 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

I'm a little skeptical because of he lack of validation, NDA or not. But it looks like one of the major setbacks to phenom is gone.

We really have no information on how silicon germanium transistors react to high voltage, so I'm not going to say either way. Now only if they could fix the other shortcomings with Phenom......
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 07:50 PM   #35 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

actually i think you'll find there's plenty of information about si-ge transistors... from what i know of SGOI devices (which is minimal at best, but at least its something), the increase in potential clock speed decreases as voltage increases at a more rapid rate (than SOI) due to the atomic spacing being larger (ie you'll have to increase the voltage of an SGOI chip more than the voltage of an SOI chip to achieve the same increase in clock speed)... si-ge based chips will, however, perform better at lower voltages and currents than an SOI chip for the very same reason

so, if i understand this right (which i might not, so dont hold me to it), we will be able to get some pretty gnarly clocks on Deneb cores, but it will require some insane voltages and therefore some insane cooling
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 09:18 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I'm a little skeptical because of he lack of validation, NDA or not.
well how about this for some validation:
PCPER.com: 5 GHZ+ Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice, 6Ghz on LN2 - Page 2 - XtremeSystems Forums
Tony has confirmed it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony
Now guys lets remember we have not seen facts and figures yet... but the clock speeds are true, Macci was in full control and I am sure there is more to come.

I just think its great as a consumer we have what looks to be some awesome competition now...we need both players in the game to keep pricing what we can afford after all
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 09:22 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

And here:

Legit Reviews - AMD Phenom II X4 Processor Breaks 5GHz on LN2 - AMD Phenom II X4 Processors Spotted
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 09:41 PM   #38 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

So the Deneb chips are supposed to be the big bad boys like the X2 6000+ and X2 6400+?

Apparently Protos is supposed to have the same OC potential without the L3 cache. Bad trade off really.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 09:57 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Man these chips are way past what the 6000+ and 6400+ could ever do.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-22-2008, 01:13 AM   #40 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
well how about this for some validation:
PCPER.com: 5 GHZ+ Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice, 6Ghz on LN2 - Page 2 - XtremeSystems Forums
Tony has confirmed it.
I don't know who Tony is, but there were people on those forums asking the same thing I am. Don't post a pice of an AMD board with a DICE pot on it.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC Ste Polls 28 05-02-2008 05:51 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.