6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2008, 12:23 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

I would be happy with 4ghz on air 24/7 myself.

Now thats my concern, just how long will a 45nm chip last under 1.6v..
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:25 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I would be happy with 4ghz on air 24/7 myself.

Now thats my concern, just how long will a 45nm chip last under 1.6v..
Well considering they've clocked past 6GHZ north of 1.9V, I'm pretty sure 1.6V would be fine as long as temps are okay.

With the cold bug gone, the biggest issue overclockers are likely to face is heat.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Well considering they've clocked past 6GHZ north of 1.9V, I'm pretty sure 1.6V would be fine as long as temps are okay.
I hope so.

Any info on pricing yet?

I think ill be looking to get the 940 along with an sb750 board, core contact, Temjin TJ-10 and a GTX 260. And maybe a couple wd640gb's in raid and a bd disc drive.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I hope so.

Any info on pricing yet?
Dunno yet, but they will have be priced under $300 US at least

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I think ill be looking to get the 940 along with an sb750 board, core contact, Temjin TJ-10 and a GTX 260. And maybe a couple wd640gb's in raid and a bd disc drive.
I just got a blu-ray drive. I discovered it's not easy to actually play blu-ray without DRM's unnecessary restrictions (and this is with legitimately bought movies)
But I heard Mplayer can run decrypted blu-ray rips
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Its true about Mplayer, dont ask me how i know.

In my opinion whoever coined the term DRM should be hunted down and flogged in public with rusted nails driven through a 2x4.

Then again thats my opinion...
GO TO **** SPORE / WARHEAD / FARCRY2 DRM!!!
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

giggity giggity.
can't wait to get my hands on one of these
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Dunno yet, but they will have be priced under $300 US at least

I just got a blu-ray drive. I discovered it's not easy to actually play blu-ray without DRM's unnecessary restrictions (and this is with legitimately bought movies)
But I heard Mplayer can run decrypted blu-ray rips
Hmm.....well all my stuff is HDCP compliant and i have windvd 8 platinum which should support it.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Well considering they've clocked past 6GHZ north of 1.9V, I'm pretty sure 1.6V would be fine as long as temps are okay.
lol I wish you were right, but what kind of logic is that...people have put 2V through Wolfdale chips for crazy OCs but that doesn't mean 1.6V is fine

1.6V is pushing it on 90nm, let alone 45nm
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

But remember these are not Intel chips, they may be able to sustain 1.6v 24/7 with no issues.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 01:14 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 6GHz Phenom II Overclock on Dry Ice

The 90nm chips could barely withstand that....and can your current 65nm stand that?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Reviewed at OCC Ste Polls 28 05-02-2008 05:51 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.