680i NB temp reading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2008, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default 680i NB temp reading

can you see the NB temps of the 680i in hardware monitor?
__________________

Burn is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

use speedfan... it should give you accurate NB, system and core temps
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

the problem i always had with speedfan is i couldnt understand the readings...


core1 and core2 never corresponded to my core temps (it was always off from coretemp by about 10c!)

and then its got about 9 different temps, that arent labeled properly..


.. i'd like to find a good program to monitor NB also though.


i wonder if thats whats causing my file corruption on the 80gig when i overclock
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

well sence all ur hd's run though south bridge i dont think it would be ur nb causing it
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

what are safe NB voltages?
Burn is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

for a 680i?
ive used these for about a year now on my evga 680i A1 w/o a problem(remember ur cpu vcore and memory voltage will be different):
thx mgcook for the pic agin ive used it many times lol
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
well sence all ur hd's run though south bridge i dont think it would be ur nb causing it
AH!

it doesnt have a heatsink on the southbridge.....



any ideas how i can modify one of my old motherboards north or southbridge sinks to stick to this southbridge and conduct fairly well? (i can get grease, but actually getting it to stick is the hard part)


EDIT-


well touching it with my finger its not even close to warm.

and the heatsink actually fits perfectly, i got it off of an old NF3 motherboard i had laying around


i guess its just a frequency problem or something i dont know
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 07:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

you'll probably find its a boot problem... when you attempt to boot with an OC that is too big for your rig to handle, you may get halfway through booting to Windows before the rig collapses... occasionally this can cause data corruption in the system partition, which may cause your OS to fail... although it could also be your memory, SB, SATA controller, the HDDs themselves... or even your expansion slots (unlikely... but possible)
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 04:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

the memory is fine according to prime95, so is the CPU

the HDD is brand new WD 320g
and i have 2 identical motherboards sitting here so i doubt both of them have faulty items


it seems its just the mobo cant handle the overclock ,

(its running fine at 2.8ghz now, but i get random problems, like downloads dont complete all the time, most times they do but somtimes they mess up. and occasionally i cant install programs without kicking it down to stock settings first)


but for gaming, its running fine=P played CoD4 for about 4 hours last night, and i didnt have any issues...

so its really weird..
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: 680i NB temp reading

ya raise ur mobo voltages thats what it sounds like ur problem is to me
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VB.NET reading CPU Temp StealthTools Programming 7 07-17-2009 10:44 PM
what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!? braz Overclocking and Modding 6 02-24-2008 03:59 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
Core Temp 0.96 mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 01-06-2008 10:55 PM
people interested in 680i! NosBoost300 Overclocking and Modding 10 11-13-2007 04:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.