6800gs pROBLEMS!?!?!?!?!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default 6800gs pROBLEMS!?!?!?!?!?!

I have a evga 6800gs agp card and i am having techniqal difficultys!!! When i play source engine it locks up at splash screen mostly in game. I keep on hearing that it could be the onboard audio? should i upgrade? Any ideas whats wrong?
__________________

arlis4x is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

what drivers are you using?


what PSU do you have?


Check for spyware


check for Viruses


Check for malware


Defraged latley?


Your video card been OCed at all?


What are the rest of your specs.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 19
Default

84.21
400 watt recommends 350
Spyware scans all the time none!!
No virus
No malware
defrage normally
Nothing oced
-amd 64 3400
-1gb kingston value ram
-120 gig seagate hd
-evga 6800gs
-windows xp home
-using all onboard audio and lan *no onboard video haha*
arlis4x is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It might actually be your power supply. Wattage isn't everything, you have to look at the amperage on the 12V rail. Also your card could just be defective.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I would stress the card and see if its stable. I have no clue but it always seems to be the psu. Dont rule anything else out though.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

new drivers for card???
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

check the amps on your 12v rail like reggie said just because a power supply has more watts doesn't mean its better
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

I used those drivers for my 6600gt and they screwed me up use the 81.98 Drivers
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

There's no harm in trying different drivers.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

you aren't by any chance using a Nforce 3 mobo are you? there is Huge Compatability issues between Nforce 3's and geforce 6XXX cards, need to disable agp fast writes in bios and rivatuner if it's stuttering badly and locking up.
I'd also bid on the power supply if this isn't the case.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.