6800GS Pipelines Unlockable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default 6800GS Pipelines Unlockable?

Made this thread not only to spite Nubius, but to learn from as well.

Although this is all still theoretical, what program would you use to unlock the extra 4 pixel pipelines and 1 extra vertex shader? Rivatuner?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Either rivatuner or a BIOS flash most likely.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

1. you knew the answer.
2. even if you didn't and wanted to confirm rivatuner, you coulda just searched.


Lets not go out of our way to make stupid threads which will more than likely run rampant anyway
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I didn't know the answer, I have never used Rivatuner before, so it was I guess. I don't know why but I thought it was ATI specific. Anyways, this is more of an informative source since this is the first thread about this subject to this card specifically. It will help others who search these forums .
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

lol. I agree.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

by the time the 6800GS is out and people have it or are really looking into unlocking pipelines, this thread won't even be on this page anywhere near the top and people will still create these threads.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

So sticky it .
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
by the time the 6800GS is out and people have it or are really looking into unlocking pipelines, this thread won't even be on this page anywhere near the top and people will still create these threads.
the GS is out
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130258

its just that people have not bought it yet
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, I saw that today. That's a good price! I'll buy one if I get this computer building gig from the kid in my dorm.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 12:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I heard something about the pipes on the 6800GS not be unlockable, and that Nvidia and ATI are getting smarter and not making cards with unlockable pipes anymore. Most specifically this 6800GS, which doesn't have extra pipes to unlock. Not sure how true that is though.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.