6600gt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2005, 05:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Default 6600gt

I want to buy a 6600GT from inno3d or MSI?? but my PSU is a 300w psu.. will it be able to power the 6600GT??
__________________

templar( is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

yes.....
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I think the minimum for the 6600gt is 350w, but it should work fine...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: 6600gt

Quote:
Originally posted by templar(
I want to buy a 6600GT from inno3d or MSI?? but my PSU is a 300w psu.. will it be able to power the 6600GT??
I doubt it will work fine

6600GT is just as if not more power hungry as the 6800GT's
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

well... not necesserily fine, but it should work
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default

As long as its a brand name psu it should be fine (Pc power and cooling antec enermax ocz)
__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

the minimum for 6600gt is 300 watt it will work perfect trust me. tigerdirect tells you! the minimum for 6800 is 350watt. but ur good. 6600gt minium is 300watt.. but yes i would also recomend a name brand good 300 watt itleast. i just purchased evga 6600gt from newegg can wait to get it!! lol and i also have a 300 watt psu but it is a nice 300watt its not generic. it puts out plenty of good even amps.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 02:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

but one more thing if you got like 2 hd and like a couple cdroms u might want to unhook some so u get plenty of power to ur 6600gt
burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

sorry i think u guys are right tigerdirect was wrong lol wow there always wrong and make alot of typos i just realized that!!! the 6600gt evga recomends a 350 watt but i belive a name brand good 300 watt would do fine and running not much hard ware like 1 hd 1 cdrom and getting direct 12volts to the video card.. then u wll be for sure good
burned-ati is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Default

thanks.. I think imma get my self a Antec 480W or 550W Truepower when i get my 6600GT to play safe
__________________

templar( is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.