64Bit Revolution build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2005, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default 64Bit Revolution build

Well I finally got my credit card today and have ordered all of the parts. I want to use this thread as a sort of build process, so please dont start a flame war or tell me its carp if its not what you like best. And yes, ofcouse, there is better and much better and I realize that but this is what I got:

Motherboard
DFI LanParty NF4 UT SLI-DR NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard
Processor (CPU)
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ 1MB 90nm Rev. E
T-Shirt
AMD Athlon 64 FX (Free, only paid for shipping)
RAM
1 GB (2 pcs 512) DDR (400) PC-3200 Patriot (PDC1G3200+XBLK)
Power Supply
Enermax EG701AX Noisetaker 600wattMonarchComputer
Monitor Adapter
DVI Male to VGA Female Adapter
DVD-ROM Drive
Lite-On SOHW-1673 16x8x16-DVD-RW/48x24x48-CD-RW Black (Retail Box)
Video Card(s)
eVGA 256-P2-N376-AX/BX x2
Fan Controller
Zalman Multi Speed Fan Controller "ZM-MFC1"
Heatsink
Zalman CNPS7700-Cu CPU Cooler
Thermal Gel
PcToys Arctic Silver 5
Case Fan
Quad LED Green 80mm Fan x3
UV Light
Dual UV Cold Cathode Kit
Keyboard/Game Pad
Saitek Gamers Keyboard

Total Cost was around $2,000 USD and well worth it if you ask me. I cant wait!

-Ryan
__________________

MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I dont understand why you are getting a 7700CU HS&F when you dont good overclocking RAM. The 4000+ has a locked multiplier, which means that you will have to OC your FSB in order to OC your CPU. If you OC your FSB without good OCing RAM, your OC wont be very effective.

I would lose the 7700 and stick with the stock CPU HS&F unless you really intend on OCing.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That is overclocking ram, should allow him quite a bit of flexibility

Nice setup, I would reevulate the ram (kingston HyperX is dirt cheap right now) and look at possibily another power supply like PC Power & Cooling (510 watt version or more)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

I was looking at that one but I chose this because it is SLI complient. That was right next to it though, flip of a coin.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i like the ram you chose.

the only thing i'm wondering about is the cpu. you should have gone for the fx55 sandiego. unlocked multi and plenty of overclocking room
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well their's a big price difference, + i never knew a FX-55 90nm core variant existed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

yeah, its about $300 difference but i think if hes got $2000 he can afford another $300.


here's the FX55 San Diego:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103526
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Thing is I really cant afford $300 more, I went over my limit by $500 as it is.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 02:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
That is overclocking ram, should allow him quite a bit of flexibility
Hmmm, I see. I did not know that. I looked at it and I thought that some RAM with a higher native frequency would OC a bit better.

Quote:
i never knew a FX-55 90nm core variant existed
I didnt know one existed either, and I was quite surprised when I followed that link.


I still stand by my original post in that the 7700 cooler is not necessary at all if you arent going to OC. If you are going to do some OCing, go for the 7700.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 02:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Hmmm, I see. I did not know that. I looked at it and I thought that some RAM with a higher native frequency would OC a bit better.
Well you obviously don't know that much about what is or isn't OC'able RAM, the higher clock frequency doesn't determine it to be overclockable because guess what that higher frequency RAM is.....overclocked PC3200 that the manufacturer guarantees it to run at because of the IC's and PCB the RAM is made from.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article.php?aid=53

Theres a little insight on OC'able RAM.....Samsung TCCD with BrainpowerPCB = Overclocking RAM, which is what he has. I suggested that RAM to him because it's a pretty good price and will infact overclock quite a bit, I have the same RAM myself.

Also BH-5, BH-6, and Winbond IC's are good OC'ers but need more voltage...generally quite a bit more than Samsung TCCD.

Even if you go buy PC-4800 RAM it's going to default to PC3200 speeds.

Also I believe (atleast on mine) on that patrio RAM it says PC3200 - PC4200 I think it is, maybe 4400, 266MHz DDR533

EDIT: Bebop how old are you, just curious because you said you just got a credit card and you've already charged it up the ying yang lol....hope you don't get yourself into trouble with that
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.