64-bit pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default 64-bit pro?

i was wandering if there is any way of unlocking the multiplier on an AMD 3200+ 64-bit processor. i have seen these little tags with links about 6 pins together but can` remember where it was or if there was any other way so please help me.?
__________________

beanman is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well I believe you can turn the multiplier down on those, just not up, so if your goal is to raise the FSB then you're good to go.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Well I believe you can turn the multiplier down on those, just not up, so if your goal is to raise the FSB then you're good to go.
ChipXI is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

WELL I`VE GOT MY MOBO AT 217 AND THATS THE MAX STABLE THE THE PRO IS AT 2387 BUT IS THAT THE MOST I CAN GET OUT OF IT. OR IS THERE ANOTHER WAY I CAN CLOCK IT WITH BRINGING THE FSB OF MOBO UP.

OK YES I DO SOUND LIKE A N00B AND YES I AM SORT OF BUT I MOSTLY MOD FOR LOOKS NOT PERFORMANS
beanman is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Its too early in the day to be doing this but what i ment to was how to bring the fsb of pro up without bringing the fsb of mobo up. i can change the values of src/zclk/agp/pci but the locked together and the values i can change them to are:

100/133/66/33
100/150/75/37
100/133/80/40

i dont have anything in pci slot. the gcard is an fx7500LE and the memorys are 520 400Hz and 2-256 400Hz but there running at 333Hz because my stupid mbo cant run 3 stick of mem at 400Hz.

and oohhh the mobo is a foxconn K8S755A-FRSG (formerly 755A01-6EKRS) can anyone help?
beanman is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 03:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You don't want your AGP:PCI going above 66:33 so make sure they stay there.

Since you can't raise the multiplier then raising the HTT is your only option for overclocking the CPU and getting a higher HTT, but so you know, technically 64's dont have FSB since they have onboard memory controllers so it's actually called the HTT for the hypertransport speed now.

So basically your HTT is set to 217 right now know what I mean?
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Default

SO HOW CAN I PUT THE HTTUP WITHOUT PUTING THE FSB OF MOBO UP?
beanman is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You cant, it's that simple. Your board should also be stable at far above 217 even if it's a cheapie
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beanman
SO HOW CAN I PUT THE HTTUP WITHOUT PUTING THE FSB OF MOBO UP?
tech forums is a quiet place, no need to yell.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 06:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beanman
SO HOW CAN I PUT THE HTTUP WITHOUT PUTING THE FSB OF MOBO UP?
there should be an option to lock the PCI and AGP ratios
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.