Is 60C to hot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2005, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default Is 60C to hot?

i know this is a newbie question but i have my 3.0 clocked at 3.60GHz and upped the vcore and now my temps are 40-45C idle and 60C under load.
Too much?
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

no my sempron is 60 underload
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Thats pretty normal under load... just make sure you alteast have the bios set to shut it down if it gets to hot. Its only to make sure that you don't hurt anything.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

to me that seems really reallly reallly hot considering that those chips can't take much more than 75c and the my a64 with stock cooling gets 29c load
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
to me that seems really reallly reallly hot considering that those chips can't take much more than 75c and the my a64 with stock cooling gets 29c load
I will agree that yes, 60C to me is too hot, but then again he's talking about an Intel not an AMD....a Sempron shouldn't be running 60C.

However...I'd sooner believe your temp probe is faulty than think your CPU is running 29C under load...even if it is a venice...unless it's ridiculously cold in your room at all times and you've got water cooling that kind of temp isn't too likely.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Agreed, the first time I read 29*C load I was like, "WDF, Does he live in like Antarctica or something?" How hot/cold is it in your room? Because the CPU can't be colder at stock than the temp of the room.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

don't think that the temp probe is stuffed cos the air in the case is real cool and the air from the cpu fan is quite cool. right now my comp is at 31 but its been load all day and the room is a bit warmer then the 29c load temps. but the 25 idle and 29 load temps have been constant in that room for around 20-30days. o and i leave the side of my computer case off :P
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 08:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

my brother has a p4 prescott 2.8g at 3.6g and it runs like 60c underload my cpu runs about 56c full load at 1.85volt
burned-ati is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

my laptop P4M is runing at 65C
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

yea but the lappies are fine up to at least 100c
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.