6** series, woohoo!!!!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 08:42 PM   #21 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

These PCU's are compatable with the new BTX form factor. But I am finding out that the components needed to build a BTX rig just ain't out there yet.

You can get the mobos, and you can get a CPU (LGA 775). But, unless you can get hold of a CPU that comes with the thermal module, you are SOL. I've combed Google for an hour and a half, but can not find anyone that stocks them. TaiSol and CoolerMaster are making them, but none of their online retailers even list the thermal module in inventory. Then there's trying to find a decent case that's not a slapped together afterthought...

Oh, well. I am an AMD dude, anyway.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 01:51 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

There is a Beta Version of the 64bit OS MS XP for AMD. Now that Intel has it's 64bit processors released i'm sure you'll be able to get a Beta for them very soon as well.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:06 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
There is a Beta Version of the 64bit OS MS XP for AMD. Now that Intel has it's 64bit processors released i'm sure you'll be able to get a Beta for them very soon as well.
You can use the same one, it is not AMD specific.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:42 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Here's the link to the Tom's Hardware article:-

http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/20050221/index.html

As others have said, we can't compare the two until an official 64-bit OS comes out...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:45 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Just use the Beta XP Pro 64 OS next month -.- Or if your lucky to dl the beta then use it to compare :-p
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.