5900 or 9800 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 06:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

are the 6600's AGP or PCI Express? (does PCI express have it's own port?....i havn't researched it much)
__________________

melcher88 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

PCI-express, and yes its a different port... kinda obscure for now, it will be standard before too long
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
are the 6600's AGP or PCI Express? (does PCI express have it's own port?....i havn't researched it much)
They are PCI-E for now, but will have the AGP Versions released end of November, beginning of December, around in that area, right before christmas of course so they can make that money

Like leonidas said though, right now PCI-E isn't fully utilized, but when it becomes standard it'll be twice as fast as AGP 8x
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i must say however that all ive seen says even the highest topend cards dont need the extra bandwidth pci-e gives.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 06:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Does PCI-E seperate from PCI, or do they utilize the same port?
And if they're different ports, how much would a board cost with it on there?
melcher88 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 06:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Does PCI-E seperate from PCI, or do they utilize the same port?
PCI-E are seperate from the PCI slots. they have great difference in speed between those two.

PCI-E motherboards aren't that expensive. it's just that most of them are only for Intel's P4s, not AMD. I think i heard they created amd PCI-E mobos but i ain't sure.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 09:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

The Nvidia Nforce4 boards are meant for AMD. These chipsets will also support the Nvidia SLI as well.
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 09:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Abit has released the AX8-3rd Eye.
ag3 is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 03:03 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Default

maybe a 9600xt or 6600
__________________

Brackus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.