4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2009, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
up-smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 157
Default 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

This is a really useful feature of Vista, that I though I'd share with the forums even though its pretty well known... sometimes things go un-noticed

#
Step1
Insert your flash drive into a USB port. If you have auto play enabled, there should be an option in the menu that appears that says, "Speed Up My System" that will allow you to enable ReadyBoost and skip to the final step (step 6).

#
Step 2

Open the My Computer tab.
#
Step 3

Find the drive letter that your flash drive is occupying. Your computer will automatically assign the next available letter in the list when you plug it in. If you have one hard drive, and two disc drives, this means that your next drive letter is F. However, if you have multiple drives (hard drives, disk drives, removable disk drives, etc), or partitions, the letter will be further down the list.

#
Step 4

Right click the drive letter, and choose properties.

#
Step 5

Look for the ReadyBoost Tab, and select it.

#
Step 6

Look for the option to enable the flash drive as RAM, and allocate the amount of space on the drive you wish to use as RAM. Remember, most systems (even newer ones) max out at 4GB RAM. So if you have a drive larger than that, or 2GB RAM already, you need to remember this limitation so as to prevent damage to your system.


This guide was copy+pasted from
How to Use a Flash Drive as RAM | eHow.com

I take no credit for this...
__________________

up-smash is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

Not really equivalent to RAM though, plus you need a usb stick thats "ReadyBoost" Compatible. But as a quick fix I could see this working to some degree.
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 08-29-2009, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

I ran a flash drive for ReadyBoost, for a while. It really didn't make any difference that I could tell. I no longer bother with Ready Boost, thou it may help with a slow, memory starved PC
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

Sadly it is also well documented that ReadyBoost isnt going to show any improvement on a system that has that much RAM. Plus to really get any bonus from ReadyBoost you should have a Flash Drive that is double the amount of RAM.

So if you have 4GB of RAM you should be using a Flash Drive that is 8GB in size. But even Microsoft has noted that if you have 2GB or more that ReadyBoost wont improve your system speed. ReadyBoost is mainly for systems that have 2GB of RAM or less.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 12:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

Ready boost was a bad idea. It made sense considering that some people were trying to run the beast that is Vista on machines from 2002. But in reality it doesn't help you at all.

Ram can transmit ops in gigabytes per second, the best SSDs (which are much faster than a flash drive) are measured in megabytes per second. Flash memory is much slower, and only creates a memory bottleneck. It is about as flawed a system as pagefile.

The best solution is always to just get more ram.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
up-smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 157
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

I think ready boost was a good idea... the theory just didn't work out as well as microsoft would have liked...
up-smash is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by up-smash View Post
I think ready boost was a good idea... the theory just didn't work out as well as microsoft would have liked...
Microsoft had no control over it. Storage medium will never be as fast as RAM. Therefore it makes a poor replacement. If anything it was a gimmick as the people at MS were smart enough to know that.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

can you do this on xp?
changsterdj is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 12:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

no, it is a Vista feature.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 03:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: 4GB Flash-Drive=4GB RAM

can you use space from your hard drive for ram
__________________

changsterdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FlashPlayer version? ThriceLabs Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-24-2008 12:24 PM
RAM - 2gb vs 4gb golumstoe New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-22-2008 01:28 AM
4GB or 3GB of RAM XDRoX New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-10-2008 01:34 AM
Ah, 4gb of RAM. Does matching matter? bengance New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-09-2008 10:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.