4850 screwing around! - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2008, 08:30 AM   #51 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Asus, Is that what you mean? Thanks alot dude!
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 11:57 AM   #52 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

try this bios
RapidShare: Easy Filehosting

However it's not unlocked, the unlocked bioses are all buggy and I can't get them to edit properly. I usually just pencil mod the card and use AMD GPU tool to find my max clock, then flash the desired clocks in.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 12:50 PM   #53 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Oh? How do I flash the desired clocks in? I thought you had to have it unlocked also to use CCC? (should I re-uninstal CCC...lol) I'll try that bios when I get home I guess, did you make it?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 12:54 PM   #54 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

yeah i made it, its the same one i use.

And you only need an unlocked bios if you want to clock using the CCC...but you can just disable overdrive and flash the bios with different clocks.

and to flash desired clocks in you use RBE or I can do it for you...but use the AMD GPU tool to test for your desired clocks first.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:14 PM   #55 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

I've heard of RBE, I see it all over the place over at XS. Is it hard to use? Because I can't go up to you every day and go "zomg I need 820/1100 NOW!"

Thanks though man!
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:16 PM   #56 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

lol

yeah it's easy to use. just google RBE v1.13 ...when you change clocks keep the "locked" option checked.

Also i would use my bios as a template. It's an asus bios and has a .94v idle which is nice because it keeps temps down, especially when pencil modded.

I am 1.08v idle 1.38v load
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:22 PM   #57 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Thats exactly what I want. And your hitting 880/1150..... thats kind of insane.

I just want 800/1100 and I can then chill out :P

Does that cause any stability issues gurusan? Jumping from a low vcore to a high one?

(oh and does your 4850 ever drop down to a 500 core/ 750 mem with stock bios? Mine was doing it at idle.... I thought it was another asus "save the earth, it's the only planet with video cards" feature.)
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 01:28 PM   #58 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Nope doesn't cause stability issues...that's powerplay and its supposed to do that..I just made it so the difference is larger.

And yeah at stock it will do 1.1v idle and 500mhz, but I changed the values to .94v and 300mhz for 2d.

I ran 160mhz for awhile but it crashed out sometiems when alt-tabbing to and from games. With 300mhz it's perfectly stable.

Also idles very nice, 22c I've seen with water....usually around 24-26c
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:21 PM   #59 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Oh sweeeeet. Can't wait till I get home, I hope my pencil mod was enough though, I really didn't notice a big increase in volts...Which pencil mod did you use gurusan? If you used the first one like me, did you make alot of passes on that black thing, because I made like 5-6 really light ones...
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 02:28 PM   #60 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

I used a mix of the two. I recommend starting with the one you are already on...and you have to shade the heck out of it. I mean really, like 1 billion strokes. Its quite annoying...but once its on it's on pretty thick and it should stick pretty well for the future.

Try to shade it down to like .90 or 1 ohm. THat will give you around 1.32 or so volts....getting it below that is tricky unless you have a more conductive pencil.

oh and remember, NEVER measure resistance when the card is receiving power.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4850 check... Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 19 08-02-2008 01:30 PM
Is there alot of difference between the 4850 and the 8800gt? Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-23-2008 11:02 PM
Palit or Gigabyte HD 4850 $170 CDN after MIR jfenwick Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-09-2008 09:10 PM
Asus Radeon 4850 - $164.99 after MIR Apokalipse Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 07-09-2008 06:16 PM
AMD Ships Radeon 4850 Graphics Card Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 14 06-01-2008 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.