4850 screwing around! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2008, 01:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

did you enable Loadline Calibration? My P5E had basically zero vdrop and no vdroop at all.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Is yours the p53 x38? I don't see that option in my bios. I didn't flash my bios either (yet).

It's alright though, like I said the voltage is much better, and I have a stable OC atm. Working on getting back to 3.8 with low vcore.


edit:

OOO, good news I think! I found some multimeters in my shed gurusan, which one should I use?





The small one or the big clamp one? I hope I know how to use it :/
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!



<3 BIOS FLASH
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:31 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

use the clamp one since it's digital.

So i guess you got the bios flashing after all. good stuff
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 12:18 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Ya, but for some reason my DMM is reading the voltage as 1.3v's or something and I'm not really clocking any higher at all. I just wanted the bios flash to be able to use CCC for higher clocks.

Am I using this DMM wrong somehow?


I have it set to the 2 under DCV section on the right hand side. And it reads as 1.3v's on all 3 of the vgpu spots. I didn't test it out with stock bios... I'm thinking of re-flashing and then checking because I'm not getting very good clocks with this new bios.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 12:21 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

set it to 20, not 2...at 2 it's not accurate enough so it's rounding up to 1.3v
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 02:28 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

Thanks, i had no idea how to use it, let me test it out now.

also, does uninstalling CCC do anything? I don't need it once I put the Accelero on my 4850...

gurusan, I gotta say, you were the one who made me get the 4850, your results really inspired me, lol.

Ok, I just did it with 20 and it still says it is pretty high.

edit: It's reading 1.29 for vgpu.... isn't that impossible with just a bios flash?

edit: On load btw.

edit: somethings gotta be wrong with the dmm or something... I'm reading 1.4 on both non load and load once again.... grr and I am definatly not clocking any higher....
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 03:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

seems high....I dunno. Nothin wrong with that though. What is your max clock at the moment?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 03:50 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

655 core now...... I don't understand, it was doing fine at like 710 before.... No way is it getting 1.4v's......... or 1.3

At first i thought it might be lower clocks because the flash would lower my voltage and then after the pencil vmod it would raise it up..

3. Asus HD4850 Light Overclocked. DF Core 700MHz Mem 1100MHz Auto Cool Fan.
GPU Core upper Limit 1200MHz
Memory Upper limit 1400MHz
Vcore DF 1.12V

When he said vcore DF 1.12v i thought that meant what it was set at. But I keep measuring these inconsistent things ... Am I not grounding properly or something?


Once I get this figured out I'll put the accelero on it... because I am starting to get a little frustrated... NO WAY is my voltage that high, it's impossible with just a bios mod... and I haven't vmoded yet.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 04:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 4850 screwing around!

what does the DMM say when you plug it into these plugs

__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4850 check... Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 19 08-02-2008 01:30 PM
Is there alot of difference between the 4850 and the 8800gt? Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-23-2008 11:02 PM
Palit or Gigabyte HD 4850 $170 CDN after MIR jfenwick Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-09-2008 09:10 PM
Asus Radeon 4850 - $164.99 after MIR Apokalipse Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 07-09-2008 06:16 PM
AMD Ships Radeon 4850 Graphics Card Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 14 06-01-2008 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.