4800 or 4400? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2006, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default 4800 or 4400?

okay i'm wondering which would oc better.... i would think because they're the same core they would have the same limitations... but with a 4800 if i were to run a 1:1 ratio i could easily hit 3.0 ghz.... now would this be true.. or would it be just as limited as the 4400 would be?? its coming close to purchase and the 2 cpu's arent too far from each other... so which would be the better buy?

and no.. i don't wanna hear anything about a conroe
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Well, if you want to OC then the 4400 is a better buy. If not, get the 4800.

I think the 4800 has a slightly large L2 cache too...but I'm not sure.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

sorry I must not know, but why no conroe?

If you have the money I would just get the 4800
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
sorry I must not know, but why no conroe?
i assume he only wants to upgrade the cpu.

ok you are right, the 4400+ and 4800+ do both basically level out ~3ghz with enough cooling. the 4400+ of course has less chance of making it that far because it is lower clocked but it is also cheaper and better value. have you or will you consider an Opteron 165/170?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i assume he only wants to upgrade the cpu.

ok you are right, the 4400+ and 4800+ do both basically level out ~3ghz with enough cooling. the 4400+ of course has less chance of making it that far because it is lower clocked but it is also cheaper and better value. have you or will you consider an Opteron 165/170?

Correct me if im wrong, but arent the 4400 and 4800 basically the same cores (toledo) and same chips, just one on a lower frequency?

Kind of like the opteron.


A opteron 165 can overclock just as well as a 180 at 2.4 GHz versus 1.8, as most opterons with a good stepping stop at 3.1 GHz with good cooling. Some people think you can get that "head start" when really there is none.


Of couse it all depends on what weak your core comes with.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i didn't say there was a head start per se. they do all fall short around 3ghz and the fact is that the higher the clock is the higher the chances are of reaching that magic 3ghz. the 4400+ may well make 3ghz but the 200mhz defecit makes it less likely because that is an extra 200mhz above it's binned speed that you must make up for.

that brings me to my next point. speed binning. due to the speed binning process the 4800+ is guaranteed to run at least 2.4ghz or higher. whereas the 4400+ only 2.2ghz or higher.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i didn't say there was a head start per se. they do all fall short around 3ghz and the fact is that the higher the clock is the higher the chances are of reaching that magic 3ghz. the 4400+ may well make 3ghz but the 200mhz defecit makes it less likely because that is an extra 200mhz above it's binned speed that you must make up for.

that brings me to my next point. speed binning. due to the speed binning process the 4800+ is guaranteed to run at least 2.4ghz or higher. whereas the 4400+ only 2.2ghz or higher.

But thats where my question comes to.


Are they not the same exact core with diffrend frequencys and multiplyers?


So even if you have that 200 MHz isn't it most likely that it wont make a diffrence really becuase the 4400 is a 4800 with a 10 multi and 200 MHz lower clock speed?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Well, I know the 3200+ runs at 2.0GHz. It gets that by having a 200MHz FSB, with a 10x multiplier.

The 3500+ (same chip, faster speed) runs at 2.2GHz. It gets that by having a 200MHz FSB, but an 11x multiplier.

Not sure if it's the same with the 4400/4800.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
But thats where my question comes to.


Are they not the same exact core with diffrend frequencys and multiplyers?


So even if you have that 200 MHz isn't it most likely that it wont make a diffrence really becuase the 4400 is a 4800 with a 10 multi and 200 MHz lower clock speed?
yes they are the same core but speed binning differentiates them. remember it could be that a processor may not even run a 1MHz overclock. so yes they are the same core but they are not the same processor, speed binning sets them apart by what frequencies they should be capable of running.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Higher clocked core does not mean higher overclocking potential, I've seen 4800+ cores that crap out after 200Mhz, the guranteed headstart doesn't mean anything considering every single core reacts differently and binning is a huge luck of the draw

This is why opterons were so popular, they are infact binned probably 200-400MHz higher than they're shipped to run at for stability reasons hence why they go so far without any vcore change.

But no, every single core is different. For example, my opteron 165 pushes all the way up to about 2.55ghz without touching vcore, then around 2.6ish you have to start feeding it about 0.025v increments for every 50MHz or so. Vcore to frequency is not proportional therefore a 4800+ will not overclock better than a 4400+ because it is 200MHz faster stock

Speedbinning is not a science. Supply and demand, if there is a large demand for slower operating chips they will simply test them at say 2.2GHz and leave it at that when in fact the chip is capable of 2.8GHz
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.