$450 Gaming - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 01:34 AM   #21 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i have to pay tax on the egg and zipzoomfly
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:26 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

uzi9mm just go with frys if they have a rebate do it man half that money comes back to them so its a great deal then plus put in the 6600gt i have a freind who loves flight sim. and he has a 6600gt and it runns very nice med - high settings and he loves that game so much just go with it 9600xt is not going to cut it will be like low-med. and yes the look at frys people at the door is priceless its ****ing funny i never stop for them to check my stuff lol.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 02:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

I say just go for a 9600 Pro instead of the XT. XT ain't much better and it's more expensive. I'm sure your bud would be happy to save a couple bucks there. I think framerate-wise the XT only gains 10F/S and in flight sim that ain't a lot.

hehehe, I'm going to staples later to find the price onnit! who wants to play chicken with my sessna!?

Now, check this out:

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...n_9800-30.html

yeah, not a very wide range of cards, but see how well the 9600 pro preformed with like, really high graphics settings? Your bud will find it quite the delight. Of course they only did a take off for the benchmark, so you might wanna lower the graphics settings a bit for actual play.

This test is also pretty interesting.. apparently flight sim really kills the framerate when you enable AA and AF:

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...charts-09.html

you probably won't need to enable AA and AF to impress your bud with this new comp setup he's gonna get anywho.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I will play you on Flight Simulator 2k4........ We can play chicken.

I take the 747, you take the glider......

No but seriously PM me if you get it. I have never played FS multiplayer before.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.