440BX chipset @ 133 MHZ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default 440BX chipset @ 133 MHZ

Hi all, new to the site. I have an old Supermicro P6SBU computer that is currently running a 350 MHZ PII with a FSB of 100 MHZ. The board uses the Intel 440BX chipset. I have a P3 1000 MHZ processor that uses a 133 FSB. Can I still use the P3 processor in this board even if the board only supports up to 100 MHZ FSB?
Any help is appreciated.
__________________

dookie435 is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Um yea just make a whole new computer you can make a super cheap one for like under 200 bucks
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

does the p3 and the p2 use the same socket?

if so you couls put it in, but the clock speed would be lower.
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.