4200 amd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 02:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Default 4200 amd

Edit : More descriptive

I have an amd athlon x2 4200 windsor

In the bios, it started out as an 5% OC at 2.2GHz (40.891 superpi 1m)

I changed it to 10% and it went to 2.42GHz ( 37.43 superpi 1m)

I tried to change it to 15%, but when i booted it said overclock failed, go back to setup. Would this be because it is too hot? Not enough power going to it? Or not good enough heatsink? I am using the retail fan that came with it.
__________________

noxarcana is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 03:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Your RAM probally isn't able to run that fast. Try setting up a memory divider.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 07:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

How about not using a program. Manually overclock WILL get you higher results.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
How about not using a program. Manually overclock WILL get you higher results.
He said "in the BIOS"...
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Ok sorry not a program but rather a "feature". He's still not overclocking properly so it doesn't make a huge difference...
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 03:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

hmm, 40 seconds on superpi seems awful slow for a stock x2 4200+. I have a plain 4000+ and hit 35.5xx stock and 30.281 at a 15% overclock.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 03:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
Ok sorry not a program but rather a "feature". He's still not overclocking properly so it doesn't make a huge difference...
Maybe his BIOS doesn't have the Softmenu like most do. Maybe that's the only way he can OC with his motherboard.

I dunno..
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 01:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Default

So, it is better to do it manually?

And i know i can google it most likely, but what is a reliable divider and what settings would i want it on?

Thanks
noxarcana is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default

whats your info>? eg ram pls include manufacturer. and all specs possible. seems like you are using asus....but yea. let us know
__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

what's the rest of your setup?

those are terrible superpi times....should be much faster than that.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.