3GHz FX-53 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2005, 05:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

It just shows how just ramping up the clock speeds on intels just wont give significant performance increases. AMD however have been carefully tweaking the cache, fsb, multiplier, and other chip settings, as well as increasing the clock speeds to create such a great chip that it reqires a Intel chip 150% of the clock speed to compete.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

You guys talk to much SH** about intel.
__________________

comrad is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 01:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Want to see something even better.


Neosteve
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 04:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

or how about the AMD FX or 64 that was overclocked to 3.8ghz
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 04:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You guys talk to much SH** about intel
Go away. No one asked you to join in in this thread. It's not an Intel bashing competition and I never said it was and clearly stated any flaming would close this thread. So keep your lame comments to yourself.


Thats good neosteve, but it's not an FX series AMD64, it's a rather low end AMD64 at that, still a nice OC though regardless no doubt about that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 05:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

imagine the speed on a 3.8ghz AMD.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 05:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

all this work and money seems to be for minimal gain. i dont care much about saying i have a 10ghz amd or intel or whatever if its gonna cost a ton to do and not really give me any real usable advantages. clearly for these processor companies to make any more big performance leaps its gonna take more than just shear numbers as in clock speed and the same goes for home users who buy them. just overclocking may give you a performance boost but its not gonna be radically better than what you started with. that said it is still pretty cool to have gotten such a large overclock and such low temps.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I wish I had any processor better than my athlon 1400+ mobile lol (1.2ghz, can oc it to 1.4). Once I get some money i'm building one though.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Jblaze, that article isn't even representing casual home use. It's specifically to see how far it will go and what kind of gain you get with that particular processor.

Just like with the 5GHz Intel, there's no real applicable use to it since no one will have liquid nitrogen cooled setup.

These things are called 'novelties' You look at it and say 'oooh awwww' not criticize it for why it's not useful because that's just obvious already
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Hey ChipX is almost there to 3.8 GHz on his FX-55. He has hit 3.63 GHz soon. I think a guy on AMD Tech Forums usernamed jason05705 already hit 3.9 GHz with a liquid cooling kit on his FX-55.

Let me tell you someting, I'm not an Inteller. I use both and I don't mind AMD or Intel. Which ever is better for my purposes, I use them. Right now it is a toss up though...

Should you know that a 5 GHz Intel would not be able to compete with that. You would need at least a 5.7 GHz Intel processor to compete with that.

How much is the HTT bus on that?
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.