3DMark06 rating, CPU too low? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2007, 04:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

wow nice score... because i've only seen people with 8800ultra's go up that high... (or SLi'ed 8800gts') (for 15k...)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

Thanks. It wouldn't have been attainable, but I pushed my GTX to the brink. If I overclock it even by literally one more MHz for the Core or Memory, 3DMark06 will crash because (I assume) the card runs too hot, or it's not stable. Once I install a few more fans in this case, and properly cool my processor, I think I'll be able to push them both a little bit more.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

i envy your mouse lol
it felt sooooo good at best buy
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

so... I got a stress test and ran it for S&G's.... and, I'm not so sure I understand what it's doing, and why it's doing it?
blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
i envy your mouse lol
it felt sooooo good at best buy
If you're talking about mine, the MX-Revolution, then I know exactly what you mean! I first saw it in best buy too, and I was like wow! I have to buy that! It's great: wireless, perfectly ergonomic, and the scroll wheel is great bcuz if you start to scroll really fast, it automatically switches to a super-fast scroll mode. I can scroll through a hundred pages in like 2 seconds. Cost around 80 bucks tho when I bought it from newegg.

Oh and by the way, to all the people out there who think that wireless mice have slower response times than wired mice, you're wrong. This mouse has actually improved my performance in FPS's
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

can u post a pic? the point of stress testing is to keep it on based on your daily usage... so if you use your computer non-stop.. keep it on for a whole day... and if it gets an error... then you either reduce your overclock or increase your CPU Voltage...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

agree with the wireless mouse opinion....
i love my G7 like it was my kid.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

and what's the voltage level you NEVER wanna "hit" or pass up? never go past, what exactly?
blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

for the q6600 1.372v....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

my I took my FSB up 10 nothces, I'm not sure how you gauge the current speed of the cpu... I know in computer it says Quad blahblah 2.4ghz, 1.80ghz...

so what I've done is actually drop it done some? or does that just give the wrong reading
__________________

blucube is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Confusion SmellyOne Overclocking and Modding 2 10-22-2007 01:50 AM
Why do I get low FPS in games? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 10-14-2007 11:05 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
Very low 3Dmark06 scores for 8800 GTS the_vdende Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-23-2007 05:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.