3DMark06 rating, CPU too low? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2007, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Question 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

So I ran 3DMark06, and all seem well... I plan on overclocking soon... but right now everythings stock...

QQ600 2.4ghz
8800GTX
2GB Crucial Ballistix...

all seemed to come out okay stock, though I wasn't for sure on the SPU test... I definately rated extremely low in that in comparison to others with similiar hardware... is that because most of them have overclocked their CPU or is it something on my end?
__________________

blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

What values did you get? Heres a log of my values for your reference, although I didn't log the breakdown of scores before I overclocked my CPU from 2.4 to 3:




note this is with an 8800GTS 320
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
What values did you get? Heres a log of my values for your reference, although I didn't log the breakdown of scores before I overclocked my CPU from 2.4 to 3:




note this is with an 8800GTS 320
okay so heres the breakdown, this is vista too... so that may have some play in it

3DMark Score 10417 3DMarks
SM 2.0 Score 4154 Marks
SM 3.0 Score 4511 Marks
CPU Score 3424 Marks

1 - Return to Proxycon 35.869 FPS
2 - Firefly Forest 33.371 FPS

CPU1 - Red Valley 1.116 FPS
CPU2 - Red Valley 1.681 FPS

1 - Canyon Flight (SM 3.0) 45.466 FPS
2 - Deep Freeze (SM 3.0) 44.758 FPS
blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

mind you this is all stock, I've had my pc a little less then a week... I want to overclock, just don't exactly know the specifics yet and may need a little assistance
blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

Yeah, that looks ok to me. What motherboard are you using? Overclocking is actually pretty easy, but takes time. Just make sure you read properly around the subject, and are careful. Anyway, if you feel that you want to, that rig should be capable of well over 13000 in 3dmark06, have a look at the sticky at the top for some comparisons.
Andyf is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

I'm using the Gigabyte P35D
blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

^ theres a whole load of p35 gigabyte chipsets...

which one:

p35-ds3l or p35-ds3r or p35-ds3p or something?

that score is normal...

start by increasing your FSB in your BIOS by increments of 5-10.. then stress test... each time u increase it..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blucube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

p35-ds3r sorry, thats the one
blucube is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

btw by stress test.... i mean like Orthos or Prime95

http://www.overclock.net/downloads/1...20060420.html- orthos

www.files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=103 - Prime95 Torture Test
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 04:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: 3DMark06 rating, CPU too low?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blucube View Post
So I ran 3DMark06, and all seem well... I plan on overclocking soon... but right now everythings stock...

QQ600 2.4ghz
8800GTX
2GB Crucial Ballistix...

all seemed to come out okay stock, though I wasn't for sure on the SPU test... I definately rated extremely low in that in comparison to others with similiar hardware... is that because most of them have overclocked their CPU or is it something on my end?

My system is very similar to yours, however I've got it overclocked (see my sig for details) and I'm getting 13,751. And my CPU is only at 2.83 on stock so once I buy a better cooler I'll probly get it to 3.3 GHz and maybe 14500 or 15000+ in 3dmark06.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Confusion SmellyOne Overclocking and Modding 2 10-22-2007 01:50 AM
Why do I get low FPS in games? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 10-14-2007 11:05 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
Very low 3Dmark06 scores for 8800 GTS the_vdende Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-23-2007 05:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.