3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2008, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

Lol, so survived my first stroke...previous score was over 11k with my 3600+ then swapped in the 5000+ and decided to bench before OCing...got 1600! (Yeah, you read that correctly, sixteen hundred...not thousand!)

Ripped the side off my case and then saw the problem...totally forgot I sold by 8800gts last month and swapped in a 7300gt in the meanwhile.

WOW: R-E-L-I-E-F

Anyways, while i start looking for good deals on new cards I've been wondering if I should upgrade my CPU cooler. Have the AC 64 right now and figuring maybe its time to upgrade to the tuniq... how much of a performance upgrade will I see for my $60? The AC 64 would still go to good use as my 3600+ only has the stock cooler on it in my wifes system....just wondering how much of a performance upgrade it will be...or is it really just going to be aesthetics.

NCIX.com - Buy Sunbeam Tuniq Tower 120 AM2 LGA775 S754 S939 S940 Heatpipe Cooler 120MM Blue LED Fan CPU Heatsink - T-120-LFB In Canada.

Other coolers I should consider?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

get the TRUE if your going to upgrade (ie. if your going to upgrade, get the best)
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

why spend loads on the TRUE when you can get basically the same performance for less...
Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
i have one and it works wonders. legit.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

Hard to find that puppy in Canada...i've heard the TRUE needs to be lapped to really unleash its potential.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 06:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
why spend loads on the TRUE when you can get basically the same performance for less...
Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
i have one and it works wonders. legit.
because you get better performance and you'll never need to upgrade your HS again?
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

I just ran the virtual version on my government office puter and it scored N/A. Futuremark could only locate one other puter on the planet that wasn't as lame as this one and so it no basis for comparison. ROFL!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
because you get better performance and you'll never need to upgrade your HS again?
OCPulse Heatsink Showdown! Comprehensive Air Cooling Roundup - Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
if you scroll down a bit there's a chart that shows the TRUE and the Xigmatek hdt-s1268, and the TRUE only has .5 C on idle, and 2.5 C on load. so I would say get the one i suggested because its lots cheaper then the TRUE and easier to find.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
OCPulse Heatsink Showdown! Comprehensive Air Cooling Roundup - Benchmark Reviews Discussion Forum
if you scroll down a bit there's a chart that shows the TRUE and the Xigmatek hdt-s1268, and the TRUE only has .5 C on idle, and 2.5 C on load. so I would say get the one i suggested because its lots cheaper then the TRUE and easier to find.
Looks good...now again, the in depth reviews i looked at mentioned the TRUE to have a rough finish and therefore significantly improving upon being lapped. Can anyone confirm this?
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 08:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

stalin just posted a thread about his first lap which dropped his temps by 5 C when he used up to 1k grit

(I think it was a TRUE... or was it?)
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: 3DMark06 with 5000BE = 1600?!?!?!

tuniq, i also lapped my cpu too. and in all honisty it wasnt as bad as i thought it would be it didnt take but a hour, and it goes by alot faster if u have a radio

edit: sence it would be a TRUE that you would be lapping i bet you would see a better preformace increase. also check out autozone for sand paper i found a veriety pack of 220, 400, 800, and 1000 for $4, if you want to go higher i went to O'reillys too they had some 1500 but were selling it only in packs and were charging $10 for the pack. id say just check out some auto parts stores and see what they have because thats the only place you will find over 600 grit besides the internet.
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6700 vs Phenom 9500 3DMark06 RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-03-2008 02:10 AM
3Dmark06 Freezing / non responsive. Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-21-2007 04:12 PM
8800GT under 3Dmark06 tesing. stock vs overclock mgcook Overclocking and Modding 25 11-09-2007 09:28 PM
Very low 3Dmark06 scores for 8800 GTS the_vdende Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-23-2007 05:05 PM
Thanks for screwing up my sound, 3dmark06 RalliArt882 Overclocking and Modding 4 08-22-2007 04:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.