3Dmark06 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2007, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default 3Dmark06

How can I run the 3Dmark06 without getting my frequency changed? Because once it comes to the CPU tests 1 and 2, my frequency changes and I get a bunch of artifacts floating across my monitor. Can it be that my VGA is unstable? What can be the problem? Please help.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 3Dmark06

You mean your speed goes lower or higher? This is the SpeedStep technology. It lowers the speed to save power, and increases speed for CPU intensive programs. You should disable it in the BIOS. It's also called EIST.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 3Dmark06

Yeah b1gapl. You told me to disable it and I did it already. Well I found out that leaving my GPU at stock core and mem, then my 3Dmark06 runs fine without any artifacts.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: 3Dmark06

do most people disable to get a better overclock or something? Won't leaving it on increase the life of the CPU? i personally left it on when i OC'd mine cuz i thougth it might actually save power/increase the life of it...plus i think its cool how it has 2 modes for 2 work load intensities
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 3Dmark06

I prefer not to, because I'm always on load. Increasing the life of the CPU won't matter, because having overclocked, will only take off 1-2 years, off a 10 year lifespan, which I know you won't be using for that long.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 3Dmark06

Ah I just disabled it. Might need to go get a tube of AS5 or MX-1 and change the paste for my GPU. b1gapl, you know any good northbridge heatsinks or fan I can use to replace the heatsink I have for mines right now? 600/750 seems stable, it's at 66C right now. I might UP it a bit more. Running the Artifact Scan for a little longer then 15 minutes.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 3Dmark06

Newegg.com - ZALMAN ZM-NB47J Aluminum Heatsinks only - Retail
This is what I used. Works great.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: 3Dmark06

My GPU runs at around 78C at load. What do you mean by "I get a bunch of artifacts floating across my monitor." ?
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 3Dmark06

Thanks b1gapl.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: 3Dmark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by dashogun View Post
My GPU runs at around 78C at load. What do you mean by "I get a bunch of artifacts floating across my monitor." ?
When I ran the 3Dmark06.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3dMark06 Results ZaKa- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-20-2007 01:14 AM
3dmark06 and battlefield 2... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 3 06-30-2007 04:30 PM
3dmark06 score funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 17 06-28-2007 11:12 AM
8720 3DMark06!!!!!!! advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 2 06-19-2007 11:22 AM
3Dmark06 Benchmarks On New System shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 06-16-2007 06:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.