3dMark05 Score Down After OCing!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2006, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default 3dMark05 Score Down After OCing!?

Ok. i have a 4400+ and a 7800gtx. well i ran 3dmark05 with everything stock, got 7175. I said decent, but i wanted better. lol. So I overclocked my CPU from 2.2 to 2.43. (no voltage mods). Ran Prime95 for about and hour and a half (maybe not enough time?) and got no errors. So I went ahead and decided to run 3dMark05, i was expecting no more than maybe 100 point increase, but I was suprised when I only scored 6396! Now I know overclocking your GPU would be the most decisive factor in the scores, but I thought OCing your CPU would atleast help the scores a little bit, not hurt them. Any ideas on the score difference? Thanks.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The CPU probably isn't stable. That or the RAM. Run Prime95 again for like 8 hours (you can run it overnight). Once that's done run memtest86 to test your memory. What power supply do you have?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

hec 475. its a good psu despite the aftermarket name. i will run it again tonight and see how it is. thanks for the help.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I actually think it's your power supply. I was looking at the specs and they don't look to great. What's probably happening is your CPU now that it's overclocked is taking power away from your video card because there is no more extra wattage to spare. Like you said your GPU is most important.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ok ill go back to stock. man now i have to wait for a new power supply then start overclocking. o well its a good proccesor at stock anyways. lol.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea it is.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.